Skip to main content

Biological Sciences

Newly Issued Drug Patents

Loading

What is a Patent?

A  patent is granted by a government agency and gives the inventor the right to exclude others from making, using or selling the invention from the day the patent is granted to a maximum of 20 years after the day on which a patent application was filed. To find out more about patents refer to the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) or the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) web sites.

Why Use Patents?

  • Patents are an underutilzed source of scientific and commercial information linking scientific theory with "real world" applications.

  • Patents and Patent Applications often contain the first disclosure of a new technology or process.

  • Patents contain diagrams and descriptions of how things work.

  • Approximately two-thirds of  the information disclosed in patents is not published elsewhere according to the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

Find Patents

PATENTSCOPE World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
"66 million patent documents including 3.2 million published international patent applications (PCT)"

Canadian Patent Database
Full patent descriptions and patent images from August 15, 1978 to present.

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Full text coverage from 1976, 1790-1975 is searchable by patent number and classification only.

European Patent Office
International patent database containing 60+ million patents from more than 70 national and regional patent offices.

Japanese Patent Office (JPO)
Japanese patents from 1922 to present.

Google Patent Search (Beta)
Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to mid-2006.
 

Freepatentsonline
Fulltext and images of US patents beginning with patent number 4,000,000.

Patent2pdf.org
Download and print PDF images of US patents-patent number(s) required.

Patent Fetcher
Download and print PDF images of U. S. patents.

Patent Classification

Internation Patent Classification (IPC)

United States Classification

Patent Help

Guides and Manuals


Intellectual Property and Patent News

  • ipFrontline - Great source for patent statistics and trends.
  • WIPO Magazine - Covers international patent and intellectual property news.