Skip to main content

Biological Sciences

Annual Review of Biochemistry

Journal Update Alerts

Loading

Find Articles

BIOSIS Previews | Tutorial
Indexes journals in the Biological and Life Sciences from 1980-.

PubMed | Tutorial
This service from the National Library of Medicine includes Health and Life Sciences journals from the 1950's.

Web of Science | Tutorial
Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Biochemistry Databases

The folowing databases allow you to search and access information about Proteins, Genes and Nucleotides.

Biological Information Resource
This site provides access to many free biological sequence databases and software programs allowing users to access, manipulate and comprehend the massive amounts of information about molecular sequences, structures and functions.  Developed by the Univ. of Washington, this site links out to many other molecular biology and genetics links.

DDBJ: DNA Databank of Japan
DDBJ is the sole DNA data bank in Japan, which is officially certified to collect DNA sequences from researchers.

EMBL
The EMBL (European Bioinformatics Institute) is one of the main sources for DNA and RNA sequences submitted directly from individual researchers, genome sequencing projects and patent applications.

ENTREZ-The Life Science Search Engine
This multiple database search engine from the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) enables you to search and access two dozen databases and related products available via the Entrez system. You can find information on a topic, including a gene, disease, or other biomedical topic, by searching all 24 databases at once rather than each individually.

ExPASy Molecular Biology Server
The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB). This server is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D PAGE. Provides access to a large number databases, tools and software packages as well as links to many molecular biology resources and servers.

Reference Shelf

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
Call Number: QH302.5 .D48 2004 | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online
Call Number: Internet Access

The Facts on File Dictionary of Biochemistry  
Call Number:  QP512 .F33 2003  | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)



Encylcopedias

AccessScience : McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Cell Technology
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Call Number: QH506 .C74 1999 | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number:  TP9 .U44 2003 (Print Copy) | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

 

HandBooks & Manuals

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
A fully searchable online version of the latest edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, this resource provides physical and chemical data on thousands of organic and inorganic compounds as well as scientific abbreviations and symbols, acid-base indicators and chemical structure diagrams.
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number: QD65 .H23 (Print Copy)  | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

Knovel
This collection of science-related reference sources includes 26 Biology related titles such as Basic Concepts in Biochemistry - A Student's Survival Guide and Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology, Volumes 1-4. Searchable by keyword, author title and Table of Contents.
Call Number: Internet Access

Modern Experimental Biochemistry
Call Number:  QP519.7 .B69 2000  (Print copy)  | Location: Reserve Desk (First Floor Library Tower )

PubChem
PubChem integrates chemical information on molecular compounds produced by the National Institue of Health's molecular libraries screening centers with other databases supported by the National Library of Medicine.
Call Number: Internet Access

CrossFire (Belstein and Gmelin Handbooks Online)
Structure searchable datbase of chemical substances with references from the 1700's. Available on computers in the Library's Information Commons.

Patents

Canadian Patent Database
Full patent descriptions and patent images from August 15, 1978 to present.

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Full text coverage from 1976, 1790-1975 is searchable by patent number and classification only.

European Patent Office
International patent database containing 60+ million patents from more than 70 national and regional patent offices.

Japanese Patent Office (JPO)
Japanese patents from 1922 to present.

Google Patent Search (Beta)
Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to mid-2006.

Scirus
Indexes over 13 million patents from the US, European and Japanese Patent offices and WIPO.

Freepatentsonline
Fulltext and images of US patents beginning with patent number 4,000,000.

Patent2pdf.org
Download and print PDF images of US patents-patent number(s) required.

Patent Fetcher
Download and print PDF images of U. S. patents.