Skip to main content

Alert: High Density Library Closure | November 24 - 26

Biological Sciences

Cell Press Podcasts

Nature Cell Biology

Loading

Find Articles

BIOSIS Previews | Tutorial
Indexes journals in the Biological and Life Sciences from 1980-.

PubMed | Tutorial
This service from the National Library of Medicine includes Health and Life Sciences journals from the 1950's.


Web of Science | Tutorial
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Specialized CMMB Databases

DDBJ: DNA Databank of Japan
DDBJ is the sole DNA data bank in Japan, which is officially certified to collect DNA sequences from researchers.

EMBL
The EMBL (European Bioinformatics Institute) is one of the main sources for DNA and RNA sequences submitted directly from individual researchers, genome sequencing projects and patent applications.

ENTREZ-The Life Science Search Engine
This multiple database search engine from the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) enables you to search and access two dozen databases and related products available via the Entrez system. You can find information on a topic, including a gene, disease, or other biomedical topic, by searching all 24 databases at once rather than each individually.

NCBI-National Center for Biotechnology Information

The National Center for Biotechnology Information is an international resource for molecular biology information including public databases and software for analyzing genomic data. 

Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms 

Genomic Biology

GenBank


OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

BLAST-Basic Local Alignment Search Tool

Reference Shelf

Dictionaries
The Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Call Number:  QR9 .D47 2004 |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
Call Number:  QH575 .D53 2007 |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

Dictionary of Genetics (Recommended)
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number: QH427 .K55 2006 |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

The Dictionary of Virology
Call Number: Internet Access

 
Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Cell Technology 
Call Number: Internet Access 

Encyclopedia of Genetics
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine
Call Number: QH506 .W55 2002 | Location: Reference Collection (Health Sciences Library)

Encyclopedia of Virology
Call Number: Internet Access

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number: QD415 .A25 O94 2006 | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online
Call Number: Internet Access

Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number:  QH302.5 .D48 2004 | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

Patents

Canadian Patent Database
Full patent descriptions and patent images from August 15, 1978 to present.

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Full text coverage from 1976, 1790-1975 is searchable by patent number and classification only.

European Patent Office
International patent database containing 60+ million patents from more than 70 national and regional patent offices.

Japanese Patent Office (JPO)
Japanese patents from 1922 to present.

Google Patent Search (Beta)
Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to mid-2006.

Scirus
Indexes over 13 million patents from the US, European and Japanese Patent offices and WIPO.

Freepatentsonline
Fulltext and images of US patents beginning with patent number 4,000,000.

Patent2pdf.org
Download and print PDF images of US patents-patent number(s) required.

Patent Fetcher
Download and print PDF images of U. S. patents.