Skip to main content

Film Studies

Mainly Print

American Comedy Archives  The American Comedy Archives was established at Emerson College in 2005 to acquire, preserve, and make available primary source material that documents the professional activities of the groundbreaking individuals who have written, produced, or performed comedy for radio, television, motion pictures, or live performance.
 
Berkeley Bibliographies Bibliographies concerning film and TV.  Last updated 2011.
 
British Film Institute Explores all things British related to film and television.
BFI sceenonline; the definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history
 
Colonial Film Database This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by our academic research team.
 
Film & History Guide to Documentary Films - Sponsored by the journal Film & History this website "provides a detailed filmography of historical and history-related documentaries".
 
Media History Digital Library - Classic media periodicals in the public domain. A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning. We have currently scanned over 2 million pages, and that number is growing. Collections feature Extensive Runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
 
The Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.
 
Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research  The WCFTR actively collects the papers and audiovisual materials of individual producers, directors, writers, actors, and other key personnel in the production of U.S. audio/visual/state culture.
 
Women Film Pioneers Project  features silent-era focus on film.
 

Mainly Video

Folkstreams.net - Documentary films of American folk life.

Internet Archive contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Open culture free movies online:Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors. The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns (many with John Wayne); Martial Arts MoviesSilent Films; Documentaries, and Animation. We also have special collections of Oscar Winning Movies and Films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Charlie Chaplin.

HiBrow is a website devoted to streaming videos of the arts.

NFB - National Film Board of Canada

The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive - More than 300 films available for Internet viewing

 

Curio.ca streaming access to CBC educational video and audio, iincluding documentaries, news, drama and children's programming

Open access journals

·  Scope  Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham

·  Jump Cut : a review of contemporary media. Looking at media in its social and political context since 1974. Analyzing media in relation to class, race, and gender.

·  Millennium Film Journal  Since 1978 the Millennium Film Journal has published articles about independent, experimental, and avant-garde cinema, video, and works using digital technologies.

·  Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism A refereed open access publication whose aim is to create a forum for the range of analysis, debate and discussion that only a journal devoted to a detailed film criticism can adequately provide.

·  Reverse Shot A publication of the Museum of the Moving Image.

·  Lan-Tern  The search and visualization platform for nearly 2 million pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. An open access co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts

Source: UC San Diego Film studies resources

Movie reviews on the web

Bright lights film journal   movie fan site   

Educational media reviews online  

IndieWire   http://www.indiewire.com/