- Google Scholar
Provides access to scholarly sources. If you choose "University of Calgary (UofC Access)" in the "Scholar Preferences" section, Google Scholar will try to link to the documents via the "UofC Access" link.
"... free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases."
A "computational knowledge engine." There are also some chemical properties, but the sources are not really listed.
- ACS (American Chemical Society)
- DGRWeb "searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research ... the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in North America. ... With the DGRweb you can search for faculty, institutions, and research experiences for undergraduates."
- RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry)
- ChemSpider - "...built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and making it available to everybody, at no charge." Information includes SMILES, InChI, IUPAC & index names. Search: the database; Predictions: "structure-based predictions of systematic identifiers and physicochemical-based predictions"; ChemRefer: search for free chemistry articles. Launched March 2007. Click here for mobile site.
- InChI Trust - Official site for InChI that "develops and supports the non-proprietary IUPAC InChI standard and promotes its uses to the scientific community"
InChI - Original IUPAC project site for IUPAC's International Chemical Identifier.
InChI.info - "dedicated to the International Chemical Identifier aka InChI"; includes an InChI/SMILES to picture converter.
InChI Resolver - to generate and look up InChI strings and InChI keys
- Indiana Cheminformatics Education Portal - free cheminformatics educational materials
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide - A "resource guide for synthetic organic chemists", this site provides annotations for all of the Web sites it links to. The homepage is organized intuitively for organic chemists: screening the literature, chemical sourcing, set up and monitor the reaction, purification, structure confirmation, write-ups, and publication/communication.
- Canadian Green Chemistry Network - The Canadian chapter of the Green Chemistry Institute "is a non-profit organization dedicated to promote green chemistry to protect human health and environment". The site provides information on GC events, names of CGCN members, and GC examples, as well as the 12 Principles of Green Chemistry.
- Chemists Without Borders - "a public benefit, non-profit, international humanitarian organization designed to alleviate human suffering through the use of proven chemical technologies and related skills."
- Green Chemistry Institute - A not-for-profit corporation for advancing "the implementation of green chemistry principles into all aspects of the chemical enterprise." Affiliated with ACS.
- Green Chemistry, US Environmental Protection Agency
- Green Chemistry resources - an annotated list of GC web resources including educational sites, consumer resources, regulations, and blogs
- Materials Project
- NanoLink: Key Nanotechnology Sites on the Web - Links to Nano sites, "maintained collaboratively by Memex Research Pte Ltd and Internet Research & Development Unit (IRDU), and is hosted by SunSITE Singapore at the Computer Centre of the National University of Singapore."
- Chemistry Conferences.com - Lists Chemistry conferences worldwide. One can also submit events to be listed.
- NPArC - NRC's searchable online "archive." "NPArC is a searchable online repository containing thousands of NRC-authored publication citations. Use NPArC to link to publications of interest and to set up alerts."
- Molecular Libraries Initiative - An initiative from the National Institutes of Health (U.S.) "to enhance chemical biology efforts through High Throughput Screening (HTS) to obtain small molecule probes effective at modulating a given biological process or disease state."
- Science.gov - "a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results."
- National Science Digital Library - "the Nation's [U.S.] online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics."
- SeparationsNOW - a "free online resource for the separation science community " including news and information on electrophoresis, GC, HPLC, ion chromatography, proteomics & genomics, sample preparation, detectors, and informatics.
- ZINC - "a free database of commercially-available compounds for virtual screening" with "over 4.6 million compounds in ready-to-dock, 3D formats".
- Sense About Science - "Promoting good science and evidence for the public." This site helps the public understand science, and tries to clear misconceptions about science. Their "recent and current priorities include alternative medicine, MRI, detox, nuclear power, evidence in public health advice, weather patterns and an educational resource on peer review."
- College Physics for Students of Biology and Chemistry - Physics textbook for non-majors in Physics.
- Chemical Information Sources Wiki - Gary Wiggins' Chemistry information literacy page
- Molecules with Silly & Unusual Names
- Common Chemistry - 7,800 CAS Registry Numbers "of widespread general public interest." Searchable by chemical name (no structure searching) or CAS RN. Comments about the resource are available on the Chemistry Library News blog.
- Intute (not updated past Jul 2011) - "access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists."
- Chemistry & Biochemistry Departments in the United States
Drawing and Naming Programs
Reaxys (a chemical handbook of sorts) has a built-in structure editor.
Accelrys - free for academic use
ACD/ChemSketch - includes a freeware version. Create an account to download.
BKchem - free
MarvinSketch (from ChemAxon) - works with Macs
PubChem structure editor - click on the "Identity/Similarity" tab to access the editor. Exports into many formats including MDL Molfile, SMILES, png, gif., wmf, svg
OPSIN (Open Parser for Systematic IUPAC nomenclature) - enter an IUPAC name, and it will try to return a structure, InChI, and SMILES
Safety Videos & Other Resources
Videos, Images, & Other Media
Why academic genealogies?
- Useful for those studying the history of science
- May be useful for university or alumni relations
- Useful for familiarizing oneself with names in a subject area
- Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 6:29 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/chem
- Print Page