This guide suggests chemistry resources that are free or accessible to the public from on-campus.
With the exception of SciFinder, individuals who are on-campus may use any of the resources listed on the tabbed pages above. Most of those resources above are "scholarly" or "academic", requiring a background at the high school chemistry level (or thereabouts) and above.
The Key Databases and Search Engines box also lists academic/scholarly databases.
The rest of this Resources for the Public page links to additional resources suitable for those with an interest (academic or otherwise) in chemistry.
Library Access for the Public
- All physical materials (books, maps, audiovisual, etc.) are available for the public's use
- Some physical materials may have borrowing restrictions
- Calgary Public Library members can obtain a free TAL card from any CPL branch, which gives borrowing privileges at U of C libraries
- U of C libraries also issues a community reader card
- Electronic materials (e.g. ebooks, databases, journals): due to licensing agreements, most may only be used in the library, and will be inaccessible off-campus to the general public. If you're reading this from on-campus, feel free to use any of the resources listed on the tabbed pages above, except for SciFinder.
- SciFinder (formerly Chemical Abstracts) is not available to the public. Licensing restricts use to UofC staff, faculty and students only.
For more detail on access policies regarding the public, see the Library's Access Policies page
Key Databases & Search Engines (Academic/Scholarly)
Due to licensing agreements, most electronic materials in this section may only be used in the library, and will be inaccessible off-campus
- Chemistry of the elements (book, and ebook) - not technically an encyclopedia, but there are separate chapters about each element, or group of elements (e.g. halogens, noble gases, etc.)
- Chemistry: foundations and applications
- McGraw-Hill concise encyclopedia of science & technology
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology (book)
- Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistry (book)
- Chemistry (ebook) has a glossary
- A dictionary of chemistry
- Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary
- McGraw-Hill dictionary of chemistry
- Common chemistry "...contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number® of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information."
First-year chemistry texts: are on 6 TFDL. Their call numbers start with QD 30.
- The periodic table : a very short introduction (book)
- Physical chemistry : a very short introduction (book)
- Radioactivity : a very short introduction (book)
- Chemical Principles by Dickerson, Gray, Haight. "The starting point for this edition is the third edition of the textbook bearing the same title."
- ChemEd DL: "online textbooks which cover a variety of topics including general and physical chemistry. Some of the Living Textbooks are editable or customizable to your course"
- Books by Caltech authors: search "chemistry" for chemistry texts
- The Price is Right: 11 Excellent Sites for Free Digital Textbooks: August 2013 article reviews free textbook sites. Chemistry-related sites reviewed include Boundless, California Learning Resource Network (CLRN), College Open Textbook Collaborative, The Global Text Project, OpenStax, Open Education Group, University of Minnesota Open Academics
Finding Books (including electronic ones) by Subject
Electronic versions of these magazines may only go back to the 1990s. For older volumes, see what's available using the Print version links.
As a general rule, the library does not collect model kits to loan to loan out. However, the Doucette Library of Teaching Resources has some kits available:
There are many open educational resources for higher education. They are essentially free, university-level courses.
(Some teaching-related resources are also available at the Learning Chemistry box, above)
History of Chemistry
- IsisCB Explore History of Science Index
- Database based on the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science. On-campus, there will be links to full-text. Off-campus, use the database to search for references on the history of Science.
- Chemical Heritage Magazine (free, online)
- Library resources related to the history of chemistry
- Additionally, books with call numbers starting with Q125 cover the history of science. They can be found in the reference section (1st floor, TFDL ) or the 6th floor, TFDL.
- Chemistry milestones at NRC - Canadian chemistry breakthroughs from 1920s-1990s (no longer being updated)
- Selected classic papers from the history of chemistry
- Project Gutenberg - many historical books. A general search for "Chemistry" brings back 50+ books by Robert Boyle, Antoine Lavoisier...
- Chemistry (ebook) has a fair amount devoted to biographical sketches.
- Nobel Prize in Chemistry: (Official Nobel Prize site). Go into each year and click on the winner name(s)
- Notable women in the physical sciences (book): 96 biographical essays with emphasis on 20th century women scientists.
- Women in chemistry and physics (book): 75 biographies of women who have made significant contributions to chemistry and physics. Each profile also gives a career discussion and a bibliography of works by and about the subject. The science mentioned is accessible to the every day reader.
- Biographical memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences "life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members"
Everyday & Kitchen Chemistry
- General interest chemistry books : "Popular works" that may discuss the chemistry of everyday things, history, etc.
- Chemical experiments: books with experiments that can (mostly) be done at home
- ACS' "Explore Chemistry" page
- Anytime, anywhere chemistry experience ("for Science Majors General Chemistry"): experiments that can be done at home
- Good Eats: a cooking show that includes fun chemical explanations for some cooking processes.
- Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 6:29 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/chem
- Print Page