Skip to main content

Chemistry

Avoiding plagiarism

Refer to the links in the Assignment area in your course management system for CHEM 301.

APA style (referencing & citing)

Use APA (American Psychological Association) style for citing and references for this course. These resources give examples of APA style:

Dorothy Hodgkin and insulin

Information Search Process

http://webapps3.tlc.ucalgary.ca:9080/wispr2/app

or http://library.ucalgary.ca/wispr

  • To access all the associated text, log in using guest as both username and password

 

    For ideas...

    Your textbook is available in the library (QD33.2 .J64 2011, TFDL, 6th floor)

     

    Biographies

    Chemistry (ebook) has a fair amount devoted to biographical sketches.

    Dictionary of scientific biography (book): biographies of scientists (as long as they are deceased before publication, 1970-1980). It lists their major works, and explains some of their science.

    Women in chemistry and physics (book): 75 biographies of women who have made significant contributions to chemistry and physics. Each profile also gives a career discussion and a bibliography of works by and about the subject. The science mentioned is accessible to the every day reader.

    Notable women in the physical sciences (book): 96 biographical essays with emphasis on 20th century women scientists.

    Hutchinson dictionary of scientific biography: lots of biographies, but you'll have to browse by subject, then find a woman scientist.

    Nobel laureates in chemistry, 1901-1992 (book)

    Nobel Prize in Chemistry: (Official Nobel Prize site). Go into each year and click on the winner name(s)

    Ig Nobel Prize: Real, but improbable research. "The Ig Nobel Prizes honor achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think."

     

    History of science

    Books with call numbers starting with Q125 cover the history of science. They can be found in the reference section (1st floor, TFDL ) or the 6th floor, TFDL.

     

    Everyday chemistry

    Chemical & Engineering News' "What's that stuff": a collection of articles that gives you a look at the chemistry behind a wide variety of everyday products

    Good Eats: a cooking show that includes fun chemical explanations for some cooking processes. You may have to watch several episodes to find one with chemistry in it. Good bets are shows that deal with baking or preserving (brining/pickling, freezing, making jams/jellies)

    Discoveries & breakthroughs inside science: provides science news to local TV newscasts. See the Physical Sciences section. Put together by the American Institute of Physics in partnership with other science and engineering societies.

    Cooking, Cakes and Chemistry: kitchen chemistry blog run by the U of Toronto chemistry librarian. Each post has a little bit of chemistry, and at least one reference.

     

    More chemistry sources

    Colors of Chemistry: Online version of the old print calendar. Useful for ideas/inspiration.

    ScienceDaily: Matter&Energy News: ScienceDaily is a science news website. You may find the videos interesting, for example, Chemistry of cooking video

    Quirks & Quarks (CBC Radio): scan topics and listen to past shows. Bob McDonald, the interviewer is very good at "translating" the science into every day language.

    Nobel Prize in Chemistry: (official Nobel Prize site). Go into each year and click on the winner name(s)

    Journal of chemical education: explains the scientific principles behind its chemistry experiments. It's geared towards high school and undergrad instructors.

    Molecules with Silly & Unusual Names

    Periodic Table of Videos - one video for each element


     

    And of course: Wikipedia, YouTube!

    For background information...

    Encyclopedias

    McGraw-Hill concise encyclopedia of science & technology

    McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology (books)

     

    Dictionaries

    Chemistry (ebook) has a glossary

    A dictionary of chemistry

    Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary

    McGraw-Hill dictionary of chemistry

     

    First-year chemistry texts: are on 6 TFDL. Their call numbers start with QD 30.

    Find Articles

    These databases cover the gamut of arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

    Academic Search Complete

    Google Scholar

    Web of Science (* Un-check " Conference Proceedings Citation Index")

     

    Remember that you can choose subject specific databases according to your topic too.
    See the list of subject-specific databases.

    Images and Citing

    "Inclusion of print images in a paper is acceptable if that paper is not copied and distributed outside of the institution." (http://library.ucalgary.ca/copyright/images)

     

    Image Sources

     

    Citing & Mentioning Figures in Your Paper

    • Citing
      • Articles/books: If using the article/book in your paper, you will already have an entry for it in the reference list. In the caption, provide a citation to that entry as you would within your text, adding a page number.
      • Web/image databases: No references are necessary in the bibliography/reference list BUT you need to mention the source in the caption.
        Format: Author
        (s) (date). Title. Retrieved from: URL
        If there is no title: Author(s) (date). [no title]. Retrieved from: URL

     

    A sample "paper":

    lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum mountain hare (Fig. 1) lorem ipsum lorem while Fig. 2 is a six-storey tall hot air balloon in the shape of the Energizer Bunny lorem ipsum. Figure 2 lorem ipsum lorem ipsum.

     

    Figure 1. Animals can seem to have personalities.
    (McPherson, P. (2009). Rabbit. Retrieved from:
    http://www.pics4learning.com/details.php?img=backgrounds4020.jpg)

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


    Figure 2. An extremely large hot air balloon.
    (mandymooo. (2008). Rocky Mountain Balloon Festival. Retrieved from:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/prizmatic/2790462118/)

     

    lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum

    Mentos/Coke Video

    Mythbusers mentos/coke video

    Peer-reviewed?

    Ulrichsweb

    Search this to see if a journal is peer-reviewed. Look for the referee jersey.