Skip to main content

Chemistry

Library research for CHEM 423

Your CHEM 423 assignments will allow you to explore different areas of green chemistry.

This guide will help you find resources for your assignments.

 

CHEM 423 Course page

Additional Resources

Encyclopedias/Handbooks

Kent & Riegel's handbook of industrial chemistry online | in print
- See ch. 6, Green engineering

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers the entire chemical industry and related fields. Excellent Resource for Project Design. Includes the properties and manufacture of substances, articles on "chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering..."

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Similar to Kirk Othmer, but with more European/Japanese emphasis. "Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Known item search

Examples:

Green chemistry and processes by Mukesh Doble, 2007. Amsterdam: Elsevier. Search on the library home page for green chemistry and processes and doble

Huang J, Li K. 2008. A new soy flour-based adhesive for making interior type II plywood. Journal of the American Oil Chemists' Society. 85:63-70.
Search on the library home page for new soy flour-based adhesive for making interior type II plywood

Find articles

SciFinder

Journal and patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS). SciFinder Web guides & training (CAS site)

 

Web of Science

Database covering all areas of science. Good source of review articles.

 

Scopus

Like Web of Science, this covers all areas of science, and is a good source of review articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search the scholarly literature. It searches across many disciplines and sources such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Find books

Green Chemistry Books

Library books on green chemistry have the subject heading, "environmental chemistry--industrial applications."
A list of all green chemistry books are available here.

Green chemistry series

RSC green chemistry series

 

Books on related topics

Search the catalogue to find related books on your topic.

Search tips

  • Truncation: $
  • The catalogue uses AND, OR, NOT

Evaluating Resources

The C.R.A.P. Test Song (video)

When looking at any source of information, consider its:

Currency

  • How recently was it updated?
  • Is it current enough for your topic?
  • "Old" doesn't always equal "bad".
  • For websites and blogs: look for revision dates, post frequencies, and links. For books and journal articles: look for publication year

Reliability

  • Type of Information – fact or opinion? Is the information presented in a balanced way?
  • Accuracy
  • Sources identified? Are there footnotes or references?

Authority

  • Author / creator / organization – affiliation or credentials
  • Credibility / reputation
  • Publisher or sponsor / advertisement types

Purpose/point of view

  • Is the purpose clear or stated by the author? To inform, entertain, persuade (emotive language?), sell (who benefits?), personal, etc.?
  • Bias? Is the article written to persuade the reader, and how so?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Background information
  • Acknowledgment of other views?
  • Websites: .com, .org, .ca

C.R.A.P. test (adapted from Orenic, K. (2008, April 28). The CRAP Test. Paper presented at Loex2008Collaborate. Retrieved from http://loex2008collaborate.pbworks.com/w/page/18686701/The%20CRAP%20Test).

Annotated bibliographies

  • Inform your reader about a topic by discussing resources in that area
  • Helps focus your research project
  • Demonstrates to your instructor that you are on the right track

Annotation

  • One review (~150 words) of each resource. The review is descriptive and evaluative
  • Description might have: a summary of the resource; note the resource’s thesis, purpose, theme or scope, its format or content; identify main arguments, methods, key findings, or conclusions
  • Evaluation might have: note the author affiliation, the resource’s currency, its strengths, weaknesses, or audience; comments on its bias, its intent, or its appropriateness to your research project (e.g. how you might use it); a comparison or contrast to other resources in your annotated bibliography.

More examples: 5 academic sites, some with sample writing.

Wikis

Wikis in plain English (video)

Use the wiki to:

  • Synthesize (compare and contrast), evaluate the information you find
  • Include multimedia, links, references
  • With sources

Suggested free wiki sites:

Poster Resources

Suggested drawing tool: Accelrys Draw

Go to Options > Settings to increase default line weights, bond lengths, etc.

Logo: http://www.ucalgary.ca/identity  

Examples

Students' Union Undergraduate Research Symposium examples (in U of C's institutional repository, DSpace). Browse by title
Pimp my poster (flickr group)
F1000 Biology and Medicine posters
Better Posters (tips and commentary on posters)

Layouts and templates

UofC Med www.ucalgary.ca/instructionalresources/Multimedia/posterprinting
Purrington C. 2009. Designing scientific posters. http://colinpurrington.com/tips/academic/posterdesign#templates
Scifor  http://www.scifor.com/postergallery.htm
Microsoft office (Browse Posters or PowerPoint categories) http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/templates

Websites, articles, and guides

Purrington C. 2009. Designing scientific posters. http://colinpurrington.com/tips/academic/posterdesign 
Stoss F. 2008. Poster presentations: designing effective posters. http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/guide/guide.asp?ID=155
Erren TC, Bourne PE. 2007. Ten simple rules for a good poster presentation. PLoS Computational Biology. 3(5):e102. doi:10.1371/journal.pcbi.0030102
http://www.ploscompbiol.org/article/info:doi/10.1371/journal.pcbi.0030102

Ebooks

Carter M. 2013. Designing science presentations: a visual guide to figures, papers, slides, posters, and more.
   See Part 6. Tips on visual elements are in Part 2; best tips for use of colour

Odling-Smee A. 2013. Poster Design: A practical guide for scientists and engineers. http://design-science.org.uk/poster-design-guide-for-engineers
   Covers the basics well

Books

Nicol AAM, Pexman PM. 2003 and 2010. Displaying your findings: a practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations.  APA.
   One chapter on posters. Covers the basics, has a checklist and samples. Call #: BF76.8 .N53 2010

Gosling PJ. 1999. Scientist's guide to poster presentations.
   Lots of detail, many examples, dos & don’ts.  Call#: Q179.94 .G67 1999

Large format printing (CHEM 409, 553: optional)

Project Imagine (Main Campus) http://imagine.ucalgary.ca/printing
Bound & Copied, $5/sq. ft. http://www.su.ucalgary.ca/page/quality-education/academic-services/bound-and-copied
Multimedia Services (Health Sciences) http://ucalgary.ca/instructionalresources/Multimedia

Boolean

AND: results with both terms; decreases the # of results

OR: results with either term; increases the # of results

NOT: results with the first term but not the second


Banana Split
(vanilla ice cream, chocolate and strawberry sauces)

Current awareness

"Current awareness", or keeping up with new developments in the literature is much easier than it was many years ago, thanks to electronic delivery methods. Many journals and publishers now allow you to sign up for e-mail alerts or RSS feeds that send you the tables of contents (TOC) of specified journals. Some examples are below:

  • American Chemical Society: click on "Follow ACS" (you'll eventually need to sign up for a free ACS ID). Connect to ACS Journals.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry: click on the "E-Alerts Service" or "RSS Feeds" icons on any of the RSC journal pages. Connect to RSC Journals page.

SciFinder Web can also send you database searches of a saved search every time the database is updated.

  • Run a search. Verify the results are what you want
  • Click the "Keep me posted" arrow near the top left-hand corner of the page

    Citing and writing

    CAPlus (Chem Abs/SciFinder) Core Journals (and their Abbreviations)

    CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool:
    for searching abbreviations

    RefWorks is cancelled as of Dec. 31, 2016. See http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/citationtools for alternatives.

    RefWorks is a Web-based bibliographic management software that helps you keep track of your references and creates bibliographies.

    When importing records from SciFinder for RefWorks, choose tagged format in SciFinder.

    Interlibrary Loan

    Interlibrary Loan is a free service the library provides. If our library does not have an article or a book, it can obtain a copy or borrow from another library. Fill out the interlibrary loan form with the bibliographic information for your item.

    If articles are available from a Canadian university, the turnaround time is about 3 days. Copyright permitting, you will be sent an email with a link to the pdf of the document.

    Books take longer to arrive - a week or more, depending on the lending university.

    Book a Workroom

    The library has workrooms for group work or study. Some have computers or videotape players:

    • Book up to a week in advance (recommended)
    • 2 hours per login per week
    • Forfeit the room after 10 minutes past the hour
    • Use the online form