Skip to main content

Mathematics & Statistics

Avoiding plagiarism

For Background Information...

Dictionaries - for definitions

 

Encyclopedias - for topic overviews

 

Textbooks - for explanations and classic examples

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete (also searches Pi in the Sky)

- to narrow search to Pi in the Sky use this link and click "search within this publication" 

- select Title, Subject Terms or Abstract as a search field to increase relevancy 

use the Peer Reviewed limiter to search for peer-reviewed articles only

- truncation symbol: * (e.g. educat* returns educate, education, educating, ...)

 

JSTOR (searches Mathematics Magazine, Math Horizons, College Mathematics Journal)

- go to Advanced Search and choose journals under, "Narrow by discipline and/or publication title"

- truncation symbol: * (e.g. educat* returns educate, education, educating, ...)

 

MathSciNet

- select Title as a search field to increase relevancy 

- truncation symbol: * (e.g. educat* returns educate, education, educating, ...)

 

Many more math databases

Truncation * $

Video about truncation

 

In most databases the symbol is *

For the catalogue, the symbol is $

Contact me

Jennifer Lee's picture
Jennifer Lee
Contact:
Taylor Family Digital Library, 438A
Calgary, AB
T2N 1N4
403-220-3726

Information Search Process

http://webapps3.tlc.ucalgary.ca:9080/wispr/app

  • To access all the associated text, log in using guest as both username and password

 

Bedfordshire Bat Group, Bat Lit 2005, July 2009, available online at http://www.bedsbatgroup.org.uk/chiroptrivia/batlit2005.html. [comic by B. Watterson]

For Ideas...

Steven Strogatz on the Elements of Math:
Fifteen New York Times blog posts by an award-winning math professor covering math topics from "the basics to the baffling". These are also excellent examples of writing about math for the non-mathematician.

Browse the journals listed on your assignment:

Browse texts listed in your syllabus:

Browse "popular works" in mathematics (i.e. math for non-mathematicians)

Browse mathematical recreations books (e.g. math puzzles, games)

Browse math books in Doucette (call numbers starting with 510)

Math Resources Wiki (by the Education Librarian, Barb Brydges):
- mostly teaching resources, but another good resource for ideas

(Wikipedia - as a starting point; use the references)


Then:

  • Skim articles for topics that interest you
  • Look for issues surrounding the topic
  • Use keywords from the source in other databases
  • Look at, and follow up on the bibliographies of the above sources to see if the topic is appropriate
  • Figure out if there is enough on your topic for a paper by searching databases

Boolean Operators

AND: results with both terms; decreases the # of results

OR: results with either term; increases the # of results

NOT: results with the first term but not the second


Banana Split
(vanilla ice cream, chocolate and strawberry sauces)

Referencing & Citing

Within Your Paper

  • Place the number of your reference in square brackets.
    E.g. Edge covers of bipartite graphs were discussed by Norman and Rabin [2].
  • If referring to more than one reference, separate the references by a comma.
    E.g. For background information on graph theory see [1, 2, 3]

 

References in your reference list (i.e. bibliography)


Books

Format [reference #] Author(s), Book Title in Italics, edition (if available), Publisher, Place of publication, year published.
Highlighted example [1] G. Chartrand and L. Lesniak, Graphs and Digraphs, 3rd ed., Chapman and Hall, Boca Raton, 2000.
>2 authors [#] T. W. Haynes, S. T. Hedetniemi, and P. J. Slater, Fundamentals of Domination in Graphs, Marcel Dekker, New York, 1998.

 

Chapter in a Book (only where chapter author and book author differ)

Format [reference #] Authors, Book Title in Italics, Chapter title  (book editors, if available, in brackets), Publisher, Place of publication, year published, page numbers.
Highlighted example [6] W. Whiteley, Handbook of Discrete and Computational Geometry, Rigidity and Scene Analysis (J.E. Goodman and J. O'Rourke, eds.), Chapman & Hall / CRC Press, 2006, pp. 1327-1354.

 

 

Book from a numbered series

Format [reference #] Authors, Book title in italics, Series Title, vol. # , Publisher, year published.
Highlighted example [4] A. C. Thompson, Minkowski geometry, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and its Applications, vol. 63, Cambridge University Press, 1996.
Example [#] B. Grunbaum, Con figurations of points and lines, Graduate Studies in Mathematics, vol. 109, American Mathematical Society, 2009.

 

Journal Articles

Format [reference #] Authors, Article title in italics, Journal Title volume in bold, (year in brackets), issue (optional), page numbers.
Highlighted example
[3] R. Z. Norman and M. O. Rabin, An algorithm for a minimum cover of a graph, Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society 10 (1959), 315-319.
>2 authors [#] A. S. Kechris, V. Pestov, and S. Todorcevic, Fraissé limits, Ramsey theory, and topological dynamics of automorphism groups, Geometric and Functional Analysis 15 (2005), no. 1, 106-189.
With an issue # [#] J. Nesetril and V. Rodl, Ramsey classes of set systems, Journal of Combinatorial Theory Series A 34 (1983), no. 2, 183-201.

 

Encyclopedia

Format [reference #] Authors, Title in Italics, edition (if available), Publisher, Place of publication, year published.
Highlighted example [5] E. W. Weisstein, The CRC encyclopedia of mathematics, 3rd ed., CRC Press, Boca Raton, 2009
Online (note that there is no place of publication)
 [#] N. J. A. Sloane and S. Ploufe, The encyclopedia of integer sequences, Academic Press, 1995, available online at http://www.research.att.com/~njas/sequences/.

 

Conference

Format [# of reference] Authors, Abstract title in italics, Conference TItle, vol (if available), publisher, year, page numbers.
Highlighted example
[2]F. V. Fomin, P. A. Golovach, and J. Kratochvil, On tractability of cops and robbers game, Fifth IFIP International Conference On Theoretical Computer Science (IFIP TCS), vol. 273, Springer, 2008, pp. 171-185.

 

Web site

Format [# of reference] Authors, Title of website in italics, year, available online at URL.
Highlighted examples (the first is an online encyclopedia) [#] N. J. A. Sloane and S. Ploufe, The encyclopedia of integer sequences, Academic Press, 1995, available online at http://www.research.att.com/~njas/sequences/
[#] M. I. Hartley, Polytopes derived from sporadic simple groups: Auxiliary information, 2006, available online at http://www.abstract-polytopes.com/sporpolys/.

 

Organizing Your References List

  • Title the list: References
  • Order each reference alphabetically by first author
  • Number each reference with a number in square brackets
  • E.g....
    References

     

    [1] G. Chartrand and L. Lesniak, Graphs and Digraphs, 3rd ed., Chapman and Hall, Boca Raton, 2000.

    [2] F. V. Fomin, P. A. Golovach, and J. Kratochvil, On tractability of cops and robbers game, Fifth IFIP International Conference On Theoretical Computer Science (IFIP TCS), vol. 273, Springer, 2008, pp. 171-185.

    [3] R. Z. Norman and M. O. Rabin, An algorithm for a minimum cover of a graph, Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society 10 (1959), 315-319.

    [4] A. C. Thompson, Minkowski geometry, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and its Applications, vol. 63, Cambridge University Press, 1996.

    [5] E. W. Weisstein, The CRC encyclopedia of mathematics, 3rd ed., CRC Press, Boaca Raton, 2009.

    [6] W. Whiteley, Handbook of Discrete and Computational Geometry, Rigidity and Scene Analysis (J.E. Goodman and J. O'Rourke, eds.), Chapman & Hall / CRC Press, 2006, pp. 1327-1354.

 

 

Adapted from references in Contributions to Discrete Mathematics, http://cdm.ucalgary.ca/index.php/cdm

Images and Citing

"Inclusion of print images in a paper is acceptable if that paper is not copied and distributed outside of the institution." (http://library.ucalgary.ca/copyright/images)

 

Image Sources

 

Citing & Mentioning Figures in Your Paper

  • Citing
    • Articles/books: If using the article/book in your paper, you will already have an entry for it in the reference list. In the caption, provide a citation to that entry as you would within your text, adding a page number (see PowerPoint in BlackBoard).
      E.g. [3, p. 121]
    • Web/image databases: No references are necessary in the bibliography/reference list BUT you need to mention the source in the caption.
      Format: Author
      (s). Title in italics, date, available online at URL
  • In your paper: Use the full word (i.e. Figure) and number. Start the caption with Figure #: (See examples below)

 

A sample "paper":

lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum mountain hare (Figure 1) lorem ipsum lorem while Figure 2 is a six-storey tall hot air balloon in the shape of the Energizer Bunny lorem ipsum. Figure 2 lorem ipsum lorem ipsum.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 1: Animals can seem to have personalities.
[D. Shaw, Mountain hare, [date unknown], available online at
http://www.sciencephoto.com/images/imagePopUpDetails.html?
pop=1&id=909380062&pviewid=&country=67&search=winter+AND+coats&matchtype=EXACT]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Figure 2: An extremely large hot air balloon.
[mandymooo. Rocky Mountain Balloon Festival, 2008, available online at
http://www.flickr.com/photos/prizmatic/2790462118/]

 

lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum lorem ipsum