Skip to main content

POLI: Political Science

Guide to resources, sources, and research (discovery) tools for those studying Political Science at the University of Calgary.

What is a Library Catalogue?

The Classic Catalogue (formerly the Library Catalogue) is like an "inventory" of what is available in a library or number of libraries.   It includes records describing:

  • Books in all formates (electronic/digital, microformat, paper)
  • Government documents/publications in all formats
  •  
    • books in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
    • government documents and publications in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
    • periodicals in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper) maps in all formats (electronic, microfiche, paper)
      • journals
      • magazines
      • newspapers
    • images
    • videos, cd-roms, dvds 


Library catalogues are databases that are available and searchable online.  In the past, many library catalogues were available in card, microfiche or paper formats.  The term "card catalogue" is used for a piece of furniture that contains cards describing items in a library.

In some institutions like the University of Calgary, there are many other types of catalogues available for searching.  These include:

What is a Library Catalogue?

What is a Library Catalogue?

A  library catalogue, sometimes just called "catalogue", is like an "inventory" of what is available in a library or number of libraries. 

Online library catalogues are databases that include records describing the resources held by a library or group of libraries.  These records are searchable in a variety of ways.

In the past, many library catalogues were available in card, microfiche or paper formats.  The term "card catalogue" is used for a piece of furniture that contains cards describing items in a library.

Online library catalogues include:

  • records describing
    • books in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
    • government documents and publications in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
    • periodicals in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
      • journals
      • magazines
      • newspapers
    • maps in all formats (electronic, microfiche, paper)
    • images
    • videos, cd-roms, dvds 

Catalogues Available at The University of Calgary

In some institutions like the University of Calgary, there are many other types of catalogues available for searching.  These include:

Other Libraries and Collections

In addition to The University of Calgary Library Catalogue, there are numerous other library catalogues in the world that freely searchable for resources.  Items that are located in these catalogues need to be requested using the Interlibrary Loan services available at the university.

NB.  Before requesting an item, make sure that it is not available at the University of Calgary.  Do this by conducting a search of the Library Catalogue at the university.

Other Library Catalogues (a sampling)

The University of Calgary Library has compiled a list of other library catalogues that may be searched for resources.

The following include links to some other unique library catalogues.

What is a Library Catalogue?

What is a Library Catalogue?

A  library catalogue, sometimes just called "catalogue", is like an "inventory" of what is available in a library or number of libraries. 

What does a Library Catalogue look like?

In the past, many library catalogues were physical objects:

  • piece of furniture with lots of drawers containing cards that described the resources available - the Card Catalogue
  • binders that contained microfiche that described the resources available
  • binders with sheets of paper that described the resources availablethatavailable in card, microfiche or paper formats. 

Now, the library catalogue is not a physical object, but an online resource found on computers in a library.  It's often called an online catalogue or OPAC (Online Public Access Catalogue).

What's in a Library Catalogue?

Online library catalogues are databases that include records describing the resources held by a library or group of libraries.  These records describe:

  • books in all formats (electronic, microform, paper)
  • government documents and publiations in all formats (electronic, microform, paper)
  • periodicals in all formats (electronic, microform, paper)
    • journals
    • magazines
    • newspapers
  • maps in all formats (electronic, microform, paper)
  • images
  • videos, cd-roms, dvds

These records are searchable in a variety of ways.

What catalogues are available at the University of Calgary?

In some institutions like the University of Calgary, there are many other types of catalogues available for searching.  These include:

Library Catalogue: Locations

The University of Calgary Library consists of many libraries including:

    The library catalogue uses a number of specific locations to let you know where to find a specific item:

     

       

      Library Catalogue: Call Numbers

      Most library materials are assigned a call number that is printed on a label or handwritten on the item itself. This number allows you to "call", ie, get an item from a shelf, drawer, etc. in the library.  Even items that are in electronic format are assigned call numbers.

      Three Types of Call Numbers

      At the University of Calgary Library, there are 3 different types of call numbers used for materials in the collections.  These include:

      • CODOC
      • Dewey Decimal
      • Library of Congress

      CODOC Call Numbers

      This is a method of coding government documents and publications.  The code is based on the "author" or "issuing body" that produced the publication.  For more information on this go to CODOC Call Numbers.

      Dewey Decimal Call Numbers

      This numbering system is usually used by public and school libraries.  At the University of Calgary Library, one of the libraries, the Doucette Library of Teaching Resources uses this system. 

      The Decimal Decimal Classification classifies library materials by subject using numbers and decimals.

      Library of Congress Call Numbers

      This numbering system is used by academic (college and university) libraries.

      The Library of Congress Classification system classifies library materials by subject by using letters and numbers.

      The first few lines of the call number indicate the subject classification for that item.  The last lines consists of additional notations (author, title marks) plus date of publication to make that call number unique.



       

       


       

       

       


       

       

       

       


       

       


       




       

      Library Catalogue: Locations

      The University of Calgary Library consists of many libraries including:

        The library catalogue uses a number of specific locations to let you know where to find a specific item:

         

           

          Library Catalogue: Locations

          The University of Calgary Library consists of many libraries including:

          • Bennett Jones Law Library
          • Business Library
          • Doucette Library of Teaching Resources
          • Gallagher Library
          • Health Sciences Library
          • High Density Library
          • Military Museums Library & Archives
          • Taylor Family Digital Library

            The library catalogue uses a number of specific locations to let you know where to find a specific item:

             

               

              What is a Library Catalogue?

              What is a Library Catalogue?

              A  library catalogue, now called the Classic Catalogue, is like an "inventory" of what is available in a library or number of libraries. 

              Online library catalogues are databases that include records describing the resources held by a library or group of libraries.  These records are searchable in a variety of ways.

              In the past, many library catalogues were available in card, microfiche or paper formats.  The term "card catalogue" is used for a piece of furniture that contains cards describing items in a library.

              Online library catalogues include:

              • records describing
                • books in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
                • government documents and publications in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
                • periodicals in all formats (electronic, microformat, paper)
                  • journals
                  • magazines
                  • newspapers
                • maps in all formats (electronic, microfiche, paper)
                • images
                • videos, cd-roms, dvds 




              Location of Books: Political Science

              How is the Collection Organized?

              The Political Science collection is organized according to the Library of Congress Classification Outline.  The main classes for Political Science are:

              Other classes that include information that may be relevant for Political Science include:

              The study of Political Science also requires the use of Government Publications.  Although most of these have been classified using the Library of Congress Classification Outline some are organized by government body and use the CODOC system of organizing government information.  Governmental and intergovernmental publications and documents are found in a number of libraries, including the Taylor Family Digital Library, the High Density Library and the Law Library.

              The study of Political Science may often require the use of other primary sources like newspapers, statistical (data) and archival sources.  These are located in the MacKimmie Library and Archives and Special Collections.

              Where is the Collection?

              Most of the sources are located in the Taylor Family Digital Library, High Density Library and some still in the MacKimmie Library.  Some sources are housed in the Business Library (Haskayne School of Business), Health Sciences Library, Law Library and in the Library and Archives of the Military Museums.

               

               


               


               


              How Books Are Organized: Location

              The University of Calgary Library consists of several libraries.  Within each of these libraries are many floors, unique materials, etc. that have their own locations.

              Check the Guide to Locations for the location codes that are used for materials in the MacKimmie Library (Block and Tower) and Other Locations in the Library Catalogue for location codes that are used for materials in other libraries (not MacKimmie).

              NB.  The University of Calgary Library is currently in a transitional stage where many materials that were in the MacKimmie Library are being moved to other locations, primarily the High Density Library and the Taylor Family Digital Library. 

              How Books Are Organized: Call Numbers

              Most library materials are assigned a call number that is printed on a label or handwritten on the item itself. This number allows you to "call", ie, get an item from a shelf, drawer, etc. in the library.  Even items that are in electronic format are assigned call numbers. 

              Three Types of Call Numbers

              At the University of Calgary Library, there are 3 different types of call numbers used for materials in the collections.  These include:

              • CODOC
                • Method of coding used for government documents and publications. 
                • Code is based on the "author" or "issuing body" or "government/intergovernmental body" that produced the publication.  
                • More information can be found at CODOC Call Numbers
              • Dewey Decimal
                • This numbering system is used by public and school libraries.  At the University of Calgary, one of the libraries, the Doucette Library of Teaching Resources uses this system.
                • Dewey Decimal Classification classifies library materials by subject using numbers and decimals.
              • Library of Congress
                • This numbers system is used by academic (college and university) libraries in North American and sometimes by other countries in the world.
                • The Library of Congress Classification system classifies library materials by subject by using letters and numbers.  The first few lines of the call number indicate the subject classification for that item.  The last lines consists of additional notations (author, title marks) plus date of publication to make that call number unique.

               

               


               

               


               

               

               


               

               

               

               


               

               


               




               

              Other Libraries and Collections

              In addition to The University of Calgary Library Catalogue, there are numerous other library catalogues in the world that freely searchable for resources.  Items that are located in these catalogues need to be requested using the Interlibrary Loan services available at the university.

              NB.  Before requesting an item, make sure that it is not available at the University of Calgary.  Do this by conducting a search of the Library Catalogue at the university.

              Other Library Catalogues (a sampling)

              The University of Calgary Library has compiled a list of other library catalogues that may be searched for resources.

              The following include links to some other unique library catalogues.

              Other Libraries and Collections

              In addition to The University of Calgary Library Catalogue, there are numerous other library catalogues in the world that freely searchable for resources.  Items that are located in these catalogues need to be requested using the Interlibrary Loan services available at the university.

              NB.  Before requesting an item, make sure that it is not available at the University of Calgary.  Do this by conducting a search of the Library Catalogue at the university.

              Other Library Catalogues (a sampling)

              The University of Calgary Library has compiled a list of other library catalogues that may be searched for resources.

              These include:

              The following include links to some other unique library catalogues.