Skip to main content

Holocaust Studies

Dictionary & Encyclopedia Sources

The Columbia reference guide to the Holocaust / Donald Niewyk.  New York: Columbia University Press, 2000. D804.3 .N54 2000

Dictionary of the Holocaust: biography, geography, and terminology / Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen; foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. D804.25 .E65 1997

  • "The purpose of this work is to provide the reader with a concise, but not pretty, bibliographic, place, and terminology reference work".. ) introd.)
  • includes a lengthy bibliography (pp. 359-381)
  • Also Available online (U of C only)

Encyclopedia of German resistance to the Nazi movement. New York: Continuum Books, 1997. DD256.5 .L4913 1997

Encyclopedia of the Ghettos during the Holocaust. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem, 2009. D805 .A2 M57 2009

The Encyclopedia of Jewish life before and during the Holocaust.  Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York: New York University Press, 2001.  3 v. DS135 .E8 E45 2001

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust (The). New York: Macmillan, 1990. 4 v. D804.3 .E52 1990

  • Almost 1,000 articles investigate not only the period 1933-1945 but also the Holocaust's antecedents and its legacy.
  • Articles are signed and conclude with a short bibliography of materials.

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust (The). New York: Facts on File, c2000. D804.25 .E53 2000

The Encyclopedia of Religion / by Mircea Eliade, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan, 2005.
BL31 .E56 2005

The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. New York: Macmillan, 1991. 2 v. DD256.5 .G7613 1991

  • people, oranizations, jargon, events, movements, policies, culture of German history, 1933-45
  • 22 overview essays, e.g., concentration camps are designed to provide context and link the shorter articles together

Encyclopaedia Judaica. New York: Macmillan, 16 v. BM50 .E52 2007 (also available online)

  • important work with about 25,000 signed articles
  • all but the briefest articles include bibliographies
  • comprehensive coverage of the Holocaust

Historical dictionary of the Holocaust / Jack Fischel.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. D804.25 .F57 1999

History of the Holocaust: a handbook and dictionary / Abraham J. Edelheit.  Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1994. D804.3 .E32 1994

The Holocaust encyclopedia / William Laqueur.  New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.  765 p.
D804.25 .H65 2001

Holocaust literature: a handbook of critical, historical, and literary writings. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. D804.3 .H643 1993

  • essays written by specialists, designed to guide researchers, teachers, and students to recommended texts

Holocaust literature: an encyclopedia of writers and their work  / Sl Lillian Kremer.  New York, NY: Routledge, 2003.   PN56 .H55 H66 2003

  • provides access to writers via critical essays, bibliographies and the critical reception of their works
  • Also available online (UofC only)

The New Standard Jewish encyclopedia. 7th new rev. ed. New York: Facts on File, 1992. DS102.8 .S73 1992

Where once we walked: a guide to the Jewish communities destroyed in the holocaust / Gary Mokotoff.   Teaneck, N.J.: Avotaynu, c2002. DS135 .E83 M65 2002 

  • Essential resource for access to resources on more than 20,000 communities Contains demographic and geographic information, and references to a wide variety of resources

 

 
The Yad Vashem encyclopedia of the ghettos during the Holocaust /Miron, Gai. Jerusalem : Yad Vashem, 2009.  D805 .A2 M57 2009