Guide to key sources for research in Religion
Try These Databases First
The premier resource for locating journal articles in the field of religious studies is ATLA Religion Database
Other key indexes include:
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Index Islamicus
- Philosophers' Index
- RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
- Science of Religion - "a systematic bibliography of articles which contribute in various ways to the academic study of religions."
Call Number: BL1 .S33 | Location
- Project Muse
General databases such as Periodicals Archive Online as well as specialized databases in the areas of Art, Psychology, Sociology, History etc. can be very important sources of articles relevant to Religious Studies.
The Web of Science which includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index indexes over 1,100 of the leading journals in the Arts and Humanities and each week adds over 1,800 new records. Vendor packages of ejournals can also be very useful sources, especially to locate current publications and enhance access with full-text searching.
Find Articles for the Major Religious Traditions
Search EBSCO's Religious Studies Databases
Journal title abbreviations
- Abbreviations in Theology and Biblical Studies - list of abbreviations for journals and commentaries
- Abbreviations used by L'Année Philologique (created by University of North Caroloina) - L'Annee Philologique's listing of abbreviations
- Journal of Early Christian Studies - Abbreviations - comprehensive guide to abbreviations for a variety of religious studies journals and reference tools
- SBL (Society for Biblical LIterature) Abbreviations
- Last Updated: Jan 16, 2018 3:02 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/religion
- Print Page