Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Quick Search tool

Literati by Credo  - allows you to quickly search over 500 reference works including Gale Virtual Reference Library as well as a large number of databases for journal articles and books on your topic

Brill Online Reference - search all the Brill encyclopedias that the University of Calgary subscribes to.

Gale Virtual Reference Library -  includes many subject encyclopedias such as the Encyclopedia of Religion

Oxford Reference -  limit to unlocked and free will  ensure that material retrieved are items that you have access to. Otherwise will retrieve articles from all Oxford encyclopedias and dictionaries, many of which we do not have access to.

General Religious Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are wonderful tools for locating background information on a topic and will often direct you to key books and articles on your subject.     Also check out the Encyclopedias section of the Reference Sources section of the library home page for  links to general encyclopedias and dictionaries.

  • Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols)
  • Brill Dictionary of Relgion (4 vols)
  • Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics (12 vols)
    Call Number: BL31 .E43 | Location
    - Focuses on the theologies and philosophies of religion and ethics, produced in 1905
    - Use index volume to help locate which articles treat your topic
  • Critical Terms for Religious Studies
  • Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
    Call Number: BL 60 .E53 1998 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom
    Call Number:  BV 74` E53 2003  | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Science and Religion - "Addresses the interactions, contradictions, and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion."
  • Encyclopedia of World Scriptures
    Call Number: BL 70 .S56 2001 | Location
  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion (3 vols)
    Call Number: BL31 .E57 | Location
    - 3 volumes
    - Good for biographical information. Brief articles
  • Melton's  Encyclopedia of American Religions
    Call Number: BL2525 .M449 2009 | Location
  • The Age of Wars of Religion 1000-1650: An Encyclopedia of Global Warfare and Civilization
    Call Number: D 114 N66 2006 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Sacred Places

Other useful subject encyclopedias