Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Department of Religious Studies Theses

Religious Studies MA Theses – a list of completed theses from 1985 to present

Religious Studies PhD Dissertations – a list of completed dissertations from 1982 to present

University of Calgary Theses and Dissertations

The Vault - University of Calgary Theses Database - collection of theses and dissertation from graduates of the University of Calgary, from September 29, 2012.   Listing of earlier theses.  Contact University Archives if you are unable to locate a  University of Calgary thesis in either of these sources.

University of Calgary Library Catalogue  - while a copy of all U of C theses is located in the University Archives (in the vault from September 29, 2012),  for many older theses a second copy is held in the library collection.  Search the catalogue for "calgary and (thes?s or dissertation)" to locate U of C theses.

Accessing U of C Theses in the Archives Collection 

Note: many University of Calgary theses are also available full-text through ProQuest Digital Dissertations and/ or Thesis Canada Portal

Theses and Dissertations: Religious Studies

Key tool for locating theses and dissertations is ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ( full text electronic access to many theses published since the 1990’s, and a select number from earlier years).

Resources focussed on listing Religious Studies theses include :

American Journal of Islamic Social Studies (BP 1 .A48) - each issues contains a section listing Doctoral Dissertations - the citations and abstracts are taken from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Call Number: BP 1 .A48  Location

Religious Studies Review  -  1976 - 1993 contains sections "Recent Dissertations in Religion" and "Dissertations in Progress"
- also available in print: Call Number: BL 1 .R45  Location

Elenchus of Biblica - lists works (including theses) on Biblical Studies
Call Number: BS 410 .E52  Location

Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses - its annual bibliography  Elenchus Bibliographicus  lists material (including theses) on Biblical Studies, Religious History, Canon Studies and Theology.
- also available in print: Call Number:
BS410 .E642  Location

Revue theologique de Louvain  -  each issue has a section "Dissertations doctorales en theologie"
Call Number: BR 3 .R48  Location

RIM (Research in Ministry) - " is a freely available database that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981."

TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network - a library of over 12,000 theological theses/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. Fulltext of theses may be ordered directly on the site.

Bibliographic Access to Dissertations - guide created by Patrick Graham which includes a list of  print bibliographies listing dissertations in religion.

Directory of History Dissertations  -  over 22,000 US and Canadian history dissertations completed or in progress.  A search under the word "religion" retrieves over  300 dissertations.

 

Other Sources for Theses and Dissertations

General Sources:
 

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations  - indexes over 1 million theses both open access and restricted

OpenDOAR - Open Access Theses and Dissertations  -  index of over 1.5 electronic theses and dissertations limited to those that are free available.

Dissertation Reviews - "Founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a new site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Our goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication."

ETD - Electronic Theses Worldwide  - freely available dissertations

Centre for Research Libraries – a collection of over 20,000 doctoral dissertations from outside Canada and the U.S.  Search by title, author or keyword. Items in this database may be obtained by interlibrary loan through U of C’s Document Delivery Services.

Cyberthesis -  single search engine for  over 50.000 full text theses stored in 27 ETDs from a variety of countries.

DART - European E-thesis Portal

 OAIster  -   Union catalogue of digital resources - good for locating theses housed in the digital repositories of various universities  part of WorldCat.org.

PhD Data.org - doctoral dissertations in progress

Worldcat -   Change " Subtype limits" for "any content" to " Thesis/Dissertation". Note: Some results may be later edited publications of original dissertations. Note you can also use Worldcat.org which allows you to limit results to dissertations but record information is not as detailed

 

Resources for locating theses and dissertations from specific countries or regions:

 

Africa -  Database of African Theses and Dissertations

Australia -  Trove (National Library of Australia)  - in advanced search you can limit type to thesis

Austria -   Austrian dissertations database

Belgium - Theses from French universities in Belguim

Brazil   - BDTD (Biblioteca Digial de Teses e Dissertacoes)  -  Theses and dissertations from Brazilian universities

Britain - British Library EthOS - provides free access to many British dissertations

Canada - Library and Archives Canada Theses Portal – provides access to the National Library of Canada theses collection, 1965 - over 300,000 theses with over 50,000 available in fulltext

Germany - German National Library 

France - Thèses  -  French Doctoral theses since 1985, includes theses in progress

France - Sudoc 

India - Union Database of Theses

Israel - Israel Union List (ULI) - includes theses produced at Israeli Universities - in Advanced Search you can limit Material type to  dissertations.

Italy -  Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze

Italy - Pleiadi -  database of material held in repositories in Italy including dissertations

Mexico - Tesis UNAM

Netherlands - NARCIS  -  Theses and dissertations and research publications from the Netherlands

Portugal -  RCAAP -  union catalog of digital content from over 30 institutions in Portugal.

Scandinavia - DIVA -  Theses and Dissertations and research publications from 26 institutions in Scandinavia.

South Africa -  National ETD Portal -  Metadata for all theses and dissertations produced in South Africa 

South Africa - South African Theses and Dissertations (National ETD Portal)

Spain - Spain's Ministry of Education Thesis Database(Teseo)

Spain -  Universidad Complutense  Madrid

Spain -  Dialnet - index to Spanish theses, provides fulltext access for many works

Spain -  TDX (Tesis Doctorals  en Xarxa) - over 58,000 thesis - almost half with full-text

Sweden - Dissertations.se -  search over 26,000 Englisn-language Swedish dissertations - many are available fulltext

Switzerland - Swiss National Library

Taiwan - National Digital Library of Taiwan