Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Buddhism

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Buddhism: Research Databases

ATLA Religion Database

Bibliography of Asian Studies: References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.

JSTOR Journals: JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching.

Historical Abstracts: Core index to History journals

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies - "is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 332,790 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present."

National Diet Library (note also searches NDL Periodical Index, CiNii Articles and J-STAGE (digital material)

 

Other General Databases

Academic OneFile: Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO): Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.

Google Scholar: Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

Humanities international complete: Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Good international coverage

Web of Science: Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Includes citation searching.