Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries: Judaism

 

  • Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
  • Conservative Judaism in America: a biographical dictionary and sourcebook
    Call Number: BM750 N32 1988 | Location
  • Dictionary of the Jewish -Christian Dialogue
    Call Number: BM50 .D53 1995 | Location
  • Dictionary of the Targumim, the Talmud Babli and Yerushalmi and the Midrashic literature (2 vols)
    Call Number: PJ5205 J36 1967 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World  (5 vols.)| Location
  • Encyclopaedia of Judaism
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica 2nd edition
    - also available in print (22 volumes): Call Number: BM50 .E52 2007 | Location
    - also hold 1st edition (16 volumes): BM50 .E52 1971 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of the Holocaust (4 vols)
    Call Number: D804.3 E52 1990 | Location
  • Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia 2 vols
    Call Number: DS115.2 J49 1998 | Location
  • Jewish-American history and culture : an encyclopedia
    Call Number: E184 .J5 J45 1992 | Location

Handbooks: Judaism

A Guide to Jewish Religious Practice  Location
Call Number: BM 700 K54 1979

A Short Survey of the Literature of Rabbinical and Mediaeval Judaism  Location
Call Number: BM 495.5 O36 1920

Cambridge History of Judaism  - v. 1 Persian Period , v.2 Hellenistic Age,  v.  3 Early  Roman Period, v. 4 Late Roman Rabbinic Period

Introduction to the Talmud and Midrash (Strack)  Location
Call Number: BM 503.5 S7313 1996

Judaism from Cyrus to Hadrian 2 vols.  Location
Call Number: DS 121.65 G73 1992
- focus on the Second Temple Period
- guide to key literature and methodological issues

Oxford Handbook to Jewish Studies    Location
Call Number:  BM70 .O95 2002

General Religious Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries