Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Buddhism

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Buddhism

  • Encyclopedia of Asian Philospohy
    Call Number: B 121 E53 2001 | Location
  • Buddhist Hybrid Sanskrit Grammar and Dictionary
    Call Number: PK 965 .E33 1970 : Location
  • Critical Pali Dictionary
  • Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism
  • A Dictionary of Buddhism
    - good for brief definitions
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism
    Call Number: BQ 128 E52 1961 | Location
    - in progress, v. 1 to v.8 fasc 3 (Vaca--Zhong-a-han)
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism - "this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism, Islam, and Christianity."
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia - 6 vols - "Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally."
  • Encyclopedia of Monasticism
    Call Number: BX 2420 .E53 2000 | Location
    - includes Buddhism
  • Historical Dictionary of Buddhism
    Call Number: BQ 130 .P74 1993 | Location
  • Indian Buddhism: A Survey with Bibliographical Notes
    BQ 336 N34 1980 | Location
  • Buddhist Dictionary of Pali Proper Names

General Religious Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries