Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries: Biblical Studies

Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 vols)
Call Number: BS 440 .A53 1992 | Location

A Dictionary of the Bible

 Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation
Call Number: BS 440 D49 1990 | Location

Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters
Call Number:BS501 .A1 H57 2007 | Location

Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
Call Number: BS 255.2 D53 1992 | Location

Dictionary of Paul and His Letters
Call Number: BS 2650.2 D53 1993 | Location

Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament (3 vols)
Call Number: BS 2312 E9313 1990 | Location

Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature
Call Number: PA 881 B38 2000 | Location

Handbook of Biblical Criticism
Call Number: BS 417 .S67 2011 | Location

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible ( 5 vols)
Call Number: BS440 .I633  | Location

Hastings' Dictionary of the Bible

New Pauly Online- core source for the ancient world

Oxford Companion to the Bible

Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation (2 vols)
Call Number:  BS 511.3 O88 2013 |  Location
- excellent articles on a wide variety of topics including  Womanist Interpretation of Biblical Texts, Orality Studies  and Trauma Theory

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament (15 vols)
Call Number: BS 440 B571 | Location

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (10 vols)
Call Number: PA 881 .K5613 1964 | Location
- excellent source of articles on all aspects of Biblical Studies

Who's Who in the New Testament

Who's Who in the Old Testament

 

Handbooks: Biblical Studies

Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies
Call Number: BS 511.3 .O94 2006 | Location

Danker, Frederick W. Multipurpose Tools for Bible Study

Call Number:  BS 417 D34 1993 | Location

Handbook of  Patristic Exegesis: the Bible in Ancient Christianity

Soulen, Richard N. Handbook of Biblical Criticism
Call Number:  BS 417 S67 2001 | Location

Cambridge History of the Bible 3 vols
Call Number:  BS 445 C3 | Location

Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters
Call Number: BS501 .A1 H57 2007 | Location

The Old Testament Pseudiprapha 2 vols
Call Number: BS 1830 A3 O32 1983 | Location

Interpreting the Bible: A Handbook of Terms and Methods
Call Number:  BS511.3 .T38 2006  | Location

A Synopsis of the Four Gospels in a New Translation
Call Number: BS 2560 073 1982 | Location

Concordances

Strong, James. Exhaustive concordance of the Bible
Call Number: BS 425 S76 1894 | Location

Morrison, Clinton. An Analytical concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the New Testament
Call Number: BS 2305 M65 1979  | Location

General Religious Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries