Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Hinduism

  • Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
    Call Number: B 121 E53 2001 | Location
  • Dictionary of Hinduism
  • Encyclopedia of Hinduism
    Call Number: BL 1105 E528  2008 | Location
    - "Hinduism, History of Scholarship" p. 329 -338
  • Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies (12 volumes)
    Call Number: B 131 E52  | Location
    - Bibliography section
  • The Hindu World: an encyclopedic survey of Hinduism
    Call Number: BL 1105 W34 1968 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia - 6 vols - "Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally."
  • Encyclopaedic Dictionary of the Dharmasastra  3vols
    Call Number: KNS26 .P37 2003 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Indian Literature
    Call Number: PK 2902 E63 1982  | Location
  • Encyclopaedia of Puranic beliefs and practices (5 volumes)
    Call Number: BL 1140.27 D36 1986 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Indian Culture (5 vols)
    Call Number: DS 423 .S35 | Location
  • An Encyclopedia of Indian Literature
    Call Number: PK 2902 E63 1982 | Location
  • Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism: its mythology, folklore, philosophy, literature and history
    Call Number: BL 1105 .S77 1977A | Location

General Religious Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries