Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Origins of Christianity: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Cambridge History of Early Christian Literature

Dictionary of the Later New Testament and its DevelopmentBS 2625.5 D53 1997  Location

Dictionary of Paul and His LettersBS 2650.2 D53 1993 Location 

Encyclopedia of the Early Church: BR 66.5 D5913 1992 2 vols.  Location

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity: BR 162.2 E52 1997 2 vols.  Location

A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature, 2nd edition: PA 881 B38 2000 by Bauer, Walter.  Location

Interpreter's Dictionary of the BibleBS 440 163 4 vols. and supplement  Location

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church: BR 95 08 2005 Ed. by F.L. Cross and E.A. Livingston

Patrology by Quasten 4 vols.  Location

Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum (RAC) (27 volumes to date)
 Call Number:  
BR95 .K42 1950 |  Location
   - comprehensive encyclopedia covering all aspects of late antiquity. Can search by keyword to see which volumes contain information on your topic









 

Primary Sources

Databases for locating journal articles

Origins of Christianity: Bibliographies

Jewish-Christian Relations: an annotated bibliography and resource guide: BM 535 S44 1988  Location - See section - "First-Century Judaism and the Emergence of Christianity" p. 21-40:

The Early Church: an annotated bibliography of Literature in English: BR 162.2 R63 1993 Location

An Introductory Bibliography for the Study of Scripture: BS 600.2 F56 1990 by Fitzmyer, Joseph A. | Location

A Biblical Law Bibliography: BS 680 L33 W44 1990 - covers material on the New Testament, including a section on Paul and the Law p. 131 - 135.  Location





Concordances

Exhaustive concordance of the Bible: BS 425 S76 1894 Strong, James.  Location

An Analytical concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the New Testament: BS2305 .W48 2000 Location