Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Medieval Church: Databases

ATLA Religion Database

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Historical Abstracts - world history 1450 to present (excludes US and Canada)

International Medieval Bibliography

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

JSTOR

Literature Criticism Online - includes Medieval Literature

Literature Online  -  texts and criticism

Philosopher's Index - book reviews only available in print version (B 1 P49)

Regesta Imperii -   catalogue of works on medieval studies (art, music, religion, philosophy, archaeology, linguistics and literature from late antiquity up to the Reformation (produced by the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz)

Medieval Church - Encylopedias and Dictionaries

 

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church  (Concise version is available online)
Call Number: BR 95 08 2005  | Location
- Ed. by F.L. Cross and E.A. Livingston

New Catholic Encyclopedia  (15 vols)
- also available in print  - Call Number: BX 841 N48 2003 | Location

Dictionary of the Middle Ages 13 vols
Call Number :  D 114 D53 1982  | Location
 - Covers 500 - 1500 CE

Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation
Call Number: BR302.8 .M86 2010 | Location

Dictionary of the Reformation
Call Number: BR 302.8 .L4913 2004  | Location

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
- also available in print - Call Number: BR302.8 .O93 1996 | Location

The Crusades: An Encyclopedia 4 vols
Call Number: D155 .C78 2006  | Location

Dictionary of Women in Church History
Call Number: BR1713 .H36 1984 | Location

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Contemporaries of Erasmus: a biographical register of the Renaissance and Reformation v. 1 A-E v. 2 F-M v. 3 N-Z - also available in print - Call Number: PA8500 1985 | Location

Medieval Philosophers
- also available in print - Call Number:  PS 129 D52 1978 v. 115  | Location
- biographical information as well as a list of primary works and references to secondary literature

Medieval Christianity: Bibliographies

Reformation and Early Modern Europe: A Guide to Research
Call Number: BR305.3 .R42 2008 | Location

Medieval Visions of Heaven and Hell : a sourcebook
Call Number: BT 833 G47 1992  | Location

The 14th Century English Mystics: a comprehensive annotated bibliography
Call Number: BV 5077 G7 L33 1981 | Location

The Hussite movement and the Reformation in Bohemia, Moravia, and Slovakia (1350-1650) : a bibliographical study guide (with particular reference to resources in North America)
Call Number: BX 4915.2 Z44 1977 | Location

An  Annotated Index of Medieval Women
Call Number: CT 3220 A66 1992  | Location
- brief biographical information and a guide to further sources of information

Women in Western European History : a select chronological, geographical and topical bibliography  2 vols and supplement
Call Number: HQ1587 .F72 1982 | Location

Medieval Iconography : a research guide
Call Number: NX 449 F75 1998  | Location

Patrologies

Altaner, Berthold. Patrology
Call Number:  BR 67 A46 1978  | Location

Quasten, Johannes. Patrology 4 vols
Call Number: BR 67 Q3 1962  | Location

Medieval Church: Primary Texts

Early English Books Online

Making of the Modern World
- Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century

Matrology: a bibliography of writings by Christian women from the first to the fifteenth centuries
Call Number: BR 117 K33 1995 | Location

Atlases

Atlas of the Early Christian World Call Number: G 1046 E4 M431 1966 | Location

The Atlas of the Crusades Call Number: G 1034 .A84 1990 | Location