Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Buddhism: Research Databases

ATLA Religion Database

Bibliography of Asian Studies: References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.

JSTOR Journals: JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching.

Historical Abstracts: Core index to History journals

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies - "is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 332,790 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present."

National Diet Library (note also searches NDL Periodical Index, CiNii Articles and J-STAGE (digital material)

 

Mahayana Buddhism: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

  • Encylopedia of Religion
    -
    See article Buddhism Schools of : Mahayana Philosophical Schools of Buddhism
  • Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
    Call Number: B 121 C66 1997 | Location
    -  see especially p. 334 on for a discussion of Mahayana Schools.  Use index at the back to locate discussions of Mahayana Buddhism throughout the encyclopedia, for example p. 387-391 for controversy in Mahayana Buddhist thought in Tibet 
  • Encyclopedia of Asian Philospohy
    Call Number: B 121 E53 2001 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism
    Call Number: BQ 128 E52 1961 | Location
    - in progress, v. 1 to v.8 fasc 3 (Vaca--Zhong-a-han)
    -   see v. 6  p. 516-551-  note Mahayana in Japan p. 539-542 and Mahayana in Tibet p. 542-548
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism - "this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism, Islam, and Christianity."
    -  See article Mahayana and  Mahayana Precepts in Japan

Mahayana Buddhism: Bibliographies

  • Bibliography on East Asian Religion and Philosophy
    Call Number: BL 51 .B748 2001 | Location

  • Bibliography on Buddhism (Hanayama)
    Call Number:  BQ 4012 H34 1961 | Location
    - article and books are arranged by author; subject index at the back

  • Guide to Buddhist Philosophy
    Call Number: B 152 I52 1985: | Location
  • -  see especially History of Buddhist Philosophy (section 1) and Mahayana Texts (section 14.2)

  • Guide to Buddhist Religion
    Call Number:  BQ 4012 R49 1981 | Location
    - classified arrangement with subject index
    - good source for locating material on various aspects of Buddhism
    -  See Mahahyana Schools p. 59-70

  • Bibliographie Bouddhique v. 1 - v. 32
    Call Number:  BQ 4014 B53 | Location
    - v. 32 is a subject index to v. 24-31; v. 23 indexes v.7-23

  • Buddhism: A select bibliography: The Mahayana Tradtion



 

Handbooks

  •  
  • Indian Buddhism: A Survey with Bibliographical Notes

    • BQ 336 N34 1980 | Location     
  • -  See Chapter 4 Mahayana Buddhism, p. 141-291

  •  

    Primary Texts

    Mahayana Texts Translated into Western Languages: A Bibliographical Guide
    Call Number: BQ 7380 P42 1983 | Location
    - good source for locating English, French and German translations of Mahayana texts

    Buddhist Scriptures: a bibliography (Conze)
    Call Number: BQ 1105 .C64 1982 | Location
    - key source for locating texts and criticism

    Der Buddhistische Kanon: eine bibliographie
    Call Number: BQ 1130 .G85 1984 | Location