Guide to key sources for research in Religion
Early Buddhism: Research Databases
Bibliography of Asian Studies: References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.
JSTOR Journals: JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies - "is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 332,790 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present."
Daphne- Data in archaeology, prehistory and history - includes listing of books and articles on religion to 1000 on all continents
Early Buddhism: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encylopedia of Religion
- See article "Buddhism, Schools of, Early Doctrinal Schools of Buddhism"
- Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Call Number: B 121 C66 1997 | Location
- See Part III Buddhist philosophy
- Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Call Number: B 121 E53 2001 | Location
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Call Number: BQ 128 E52 1961 | Location
- in progress, v. 1 to v.8 fasc 3 (Vaca--Zhong-a-han)
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism - "this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism, Islam, and Christianity."
Early Buddhism: Bibliographies
Bibliography on Buddhism (Hanayama)
Call Number: BQ 4012 H34 1961 | Location
Guide to Buddhist Philosophy
Call Number: B 152 I52 1985: | Locationz
- see especially History of Buddhist Philosophy (section 1)
Guide to Buddhist Religion
Call Number: BQ 4012 R49 1981 | Location
- classified arrangement with subject index
- good source for locating material on various aspects of Buddhism
Bibliographie Bouddhique v. 1 - v. 32
Call Number: BQ 4014 B53 | Location
- v. 32 is a subject index to v. 24-31; v. 23 indexes v.7-23
Buddhist Scriptures: a bibliography (Conze)
Call Number: BQ 1105 .C64 1982 | Location
- key source for locating texts and criticism
Der Buddhistische Kanon: eine bibliographie
Call Number: BQ 1130 .G85 1984 | Location
- Last Updated: Nov 24, 2017 10:34 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/religion
- Print Page