Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Religion and Environment: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

Handbooks on Religion and the Environment

Note great series: Religions of the World and Ecology  -  Volumes and location

Religion and Environment: Research Databases

While the library search box will retrieve print books in our collection and some journal articles, consult the databases below for retrieval of material on your topic:

Useful Databases: 

ATLA Religion Database

Annual Reviews  -  see particularly article Religion and Environment

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Columbia International Affairs Online  -  "the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."

Environment Complete

Index Islamicus

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

JSTOR

Rambi: Index of Articles in Jewish Studies

 

Bibliographies:

 

Buddhism and Ecology

Jainism and Ecology

Online Bibliography of Environmental Thought - currently not available

 

Websites

Yale Forum on Religion and Ecology - great source for information as well as references to books and articles - see especially Bibliography section

GlobeEthicsLib -  extensive collection of books and articles on ethics and religions worldwide including environmental ethics