Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Modern Christianity: Databases

ATLA Religion Database  -  can also search all EBSCO databases at once (good for interdisciplinary topic) by selecting "Choose Databases" and then select "all" and press "ok"

Historical Abstracts - world history 1450 to present (excludes US and Canada)

JSTOR

Literature Criticism Online 

Literature Online  -  texts and criticism

Philosopher's Index - book reviews only available in print version (B 1 P49)

Google Scholar is also a useful source, especially to find people who have cited your article/book

Modern Christianity: Bibliographies

Reformation and Early Modern Europe: A Guide to Research
Call Number: BR305.3 .R42 2008 | Location

Literature By and About Barth


Modern Christianity - Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Blackwell Encyclopedai of Modern Christian Thought
BR 95 B58 1993 | Location

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church  (Concise version is available online)
Call Number: BR 95 08 2005  | Location - Ed. by F.L. Cross and E.A. Livingston

New Catholic Encyclopedia  (15 vols)
- also available in print  - Call Number: BX 841 N48 2003 | Location

Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity
Call Number:  BX 230 E53 2011 | Location

Encyclopedia of Christian Literature
Call Number: BR95 .E46 2010 | Location


Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation
Call Number: BR302.8 .M86 2010 | Location

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
- also available in print - Call Number: BR302.8 .O93 1996 | Location

Dictionary of Women in Church History
Call Number: BR1713 .H36 1984 | Location

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

 

See also Gale Virtual Reference Library  and Credo Reference

Handbooks

Cambridge History of Christianity  -   see v.6-9 for the modern period

Modern Christian Thought  2nd ed.  - v.1 The Enlightenment and the Nineteenth Century; v. 2  The Twentieth Century

The Modern Theologians: An Introduction to Christian Theology Since 1918  (2 vols)  ed by David Ford.
  BT 28 M62 1989| Location

Modern Christian Thought 
BT 28 L55 1971 | Location

See also Cambridge Companion series - includes volumes for  various authors including Barth as well as volumes focussed on different religious traditions such as American Methodism.  Brill's Companions to the Christian Tradition series includes volumes such as :  Companion to German Pietism edited by Douglas Shantz

The series "Great Theologians" has two volumes for this period  The Reformation Theologians: An Introduction to Theology in the Early Modern Period and The Pietist Theologians: An Introduction to Theology in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries both edited by Carter Lindburg.

Popular vs Scholarly Journals

Created  by the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University.

Modern Church: Primary Texts

Early English Books -  every English language books published between 1473 and 1700.

18th Century Collection Online -  books published in the UK in the 1700s

19th Century Masterfile - index to books, journals, images etc published in the 1800s.  Provides links to sources of fulltext

Making of the Modern World

- Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century

Past Masters
- texts of key writers including Darwin, Locke