Guide to key sources for research in Religion
Arachne - "central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne"
Artstor - "digital library of over a million images with new image collections...covers many time periods and cultures"
British Museum - over 2 million objects including Archaeological and other objects from the ancient world, Europe, Africa, Asia, contemporary cultures of indigenous peoples, and coins from ancient Greece and Rome
Beazley Archive, "the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery".
The Griffith Institute - images and archival texts from ancient Egypt and the Levant
McCord Museum - Ethnology and Archaeology -"Some 15,800 ethnographic and archaeological objects reflect the special and longstanding ties that link the Museum to the Native peoples of Canada and document many aspects of their ways of life, arts, cultures and traditions. This sector also includes a number of objects from communities living in Alaska and the northern United States.
New York Public Library Digital Collections - over 800,000 prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts and videos.
The Oriental Institue (Chicago) - images of coins, jewelry, tablets, photographs etc. Also includes citations of print material and other holdings.
Open Content - "reviews, edits, and publishes archaeological research data and archives data with university-backed repositories, including the California Digital Library" with over 23,000 images
Oxford Art Online - text of key art reference works. Can limit search to image only
Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology at Harvard University - over 1.2 million objects and 1/2 million images from around the world. Includes Aztec figurines, masks from Central America and painting of Meso-American architecture
Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology - over 150,000 images
Robertin Database - "ceramics and small art of the ancient cultures of Greece, Rome and Egypt" from the collections of the Martin Luther University
Other Image sources
Need to find images to use in an assignment, presentation or other educational project?
If you use Google Image Search, make sure you filter by usage rights under Search Tools to find images that are labeled for reuse.
Always attribute (i.e. give credit to the source) as they specify (information usually available on the download page).
- Last Updated: Jan 16, 2018 3:02 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/religion
- Print Page