Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Modern Christianity - Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Religion -  key resource 

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought
BR 95 B58 1993 | Location

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church  (Concise version is available online)
Call Number: BR 95 08 2005  | Location - Ed. by F.L. Cross and E.A. Livingston

New Catholic Encyclopedia  (15 vols)
- also available in print  - Call Number: BX 841 N48 2003 | Location

Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity
Call Number:  BX 230 E53 2011 | Location

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

 

See also Gale Virtual Reference Library  and Credo Reference

Handbooks

 

Atlas of Global Chrsitianity, 1920-2010  BR 479 A85 2009 Location

Cambridge History of Christianity  -  v. 8 World Christianity 1815-1914   v. 9  1914-2000

Encyclopedia of modern Christian missions:  the agencies  BV 2040 E52 1967  Location

Global Religions: An Introduction

The Modern Theologians: An Introduction to Christian Theology Since 1918  (2 vols)  ed by David Ford.
  BT 28 M62 1989| Location

 

 

Christianity in the Developing World: Finding Articles and Books

ATLA Religion Database  -  can also search all EBSCO databases at once (good for interdisciplinary topic) by selecting "Choose Databases" and then select "all" and press "ok"

Historical Abstracts - world history 1450 to present (excludes US and Canada)

JSTOR

RAMBI : Index of Articles on Jewish Studies  - good source of articles on Christianity in the Middle East

Religious and Theological Abstracts

Google Scholar is also a useful source, especially to find people who have cited your article/book

 

See also these databases focussed on specific regional areas:

Popular vs Scholarly Journals

Created  by the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University.