Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Tibetan: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

  • The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Zen Buddhism
    Call Number:  BQ 9259 B37 2002  | Location
  • The Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
    Call Number:  BL 1005 L4913 1989 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Religion  -  see lengthy articles for Zen and Chan
  • Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
    -  see Chapter 36:  Buddhism in Japan
     - also available in print:  
    Call Number: B 121 C66 1997 | Location 
  • Encyclopedia of Asian Philospohy
    Call Number: B 121 E53 2001 | Location
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism
    Call Number: BQ 128 E52 1961 | Location
    - in progress, v. 1 to v.8 fasc 3 (Vaca--Zhong-a-han)
     
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism - "this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Daoism, Islam, and Christianity."
     

Handbooks

Zen Buddhism: a history -  2 vols  Call Number:   BQ 9262.3 .D413 1988 | Location

 

 

  •  
  •  

 

 

 

Buddhism: Research Databases

ATLA Religion Database

Bibliography of Asian Studies: References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.

JSTOR Journals: JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching.

Historical Abstracts: Core index to History journals

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies - "is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 332,790 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present."

National Diet Library (note also searches NDL Periodical Index, CiNii Articles and J-STAGE (digital material)

 

Tibetan Buddhism: Bibliographies

 

  • Chan/Zen/Son/Thien Buddhism:  Partial Bibliography
  • Zen Buddhism:  a bibliography of books and articles in English 1892-1975 | Location
  • Bibliography on East Asian Religion and Philosophy
    Call Number: BL 51 .B748 2001 | Location
  • Guide to Buddhist Philosophy
    Call Number: B 152 I52 1985: | Location
  • Guide to Buddhist Religion
    Call Number:  BQ 4012 R49 1981 | Location
    - classified arrangement with subject index
    - good source for locating material on various aspects of Buddhism 
  • Bibliographie Bouddhique v. 1 - v. 32
    Call Number:  BQ 4014 B53 | Location
    - v. 32 is a subject index to v. 24-31; v. 23 indexes v.7-23


 

 

Primary Texts

Zen Sacred Texts

Manual of Zen Buddhism by Daisetz Suzuki
Call Number:  BQ 9295.5 S894 1960 | Location

Selected Works of D.T. Suzuki volume 1  Zen  

Zen and Zen Classics   -  5 vols.  
Call Number:  Bq 9262 B58 1960  | Location

Electronic Bodhidharma -International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism - links to Chinese, Tibetan, Sanskrit and Pali Scriptures including Taisho shinshu Daizokyo, Xuzangjing, Yongle Tripitaka, Dragon Sutra, Kanyur, Tengyur, Amitaabha Sutra, Vajraccedikaa-pranaapaaramitaa Sutra, Heart Sutra, Dighanikayo, Majjhimanikayo, Samyuttanikayo, Aguttaranikayo and Khuddakanikaye

 

Buddhist Scriptures: a bibliography (Conze)
Call Number: BQ 1105 .C64 1982 | Location
- key source for locating texts and criticism
 

Der Buddhistische Kanon: eine bibliographie
Call Number: BQ 1130 .G85 1984 | Location