Skip to main content

Geosciences

A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics

Reference Tools

Reference tools are designed to provide students with quick information or descriptions of topics of interest.  Select a source on the right to begin your research.

Lexicons

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Lexicons

Lexicons are compilations listing the names of geologic formations, stratigraphic classification and nomenclature.  Use them to find historical information about a formation and its relationsthip to other units.

Lexicon of Canadian Stratigraphy
Volume 4 - Western Canadian Stratigraphy is important for Alberta formations and units.
Call Number:  QE645.L38 1981 | Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Lexicon of Canadian Geological Names (Canadian Geoscience Knowledge Network)
If you look for definitions in this lexicon, you will still need to refer to the above lexicon to track down the original articles describing the formation or unit.

GEOLEX Geological Names lexicon (US Geological Survey)

Encyclopedias

Use encyclopedias for a quick summary of your topic.

Encyclopedia of Geology

Encyclopedia of Earth

Wikipedia
If all else fails!  Check with your instructor before you use a definition or content from Wikipedia.

Dictionaries

Dictionairies will provide you with alphabetical lists of terms each of which is defined.  Specialized dictionaries like the following often provide supplemental information.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
Call Number: Internet Access

Glossary of Geology
Call Number: QE5.G56 2005 | Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Oxford Reference Online - Select "Subject Reference"
Call Number: Internet Access

Xreferplus (A collection of Online Scientific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias)
Call Number: Internet Access