Skip to main content

Geosciences

A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics

Home

Getting Started

This guide is intended to help you get started with your Geoscience research.

If you are not sure where to start please contact the Geology and Geophysics Librarian for help with:

Find Journal Articles

Popular vs Scholarly Journals

Research vs. Review Articles

Try These Databases First

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

Web of Science
Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Google Scholar

Easy access to the peer-reviewed literature in the Geosciences

Reference Shelf

Reference Tools

Reference tools are designed to provide students with quick information or descriptions of topics of interest.  Select a source on the right to begin your research.

Lexicons

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Lexicons

Lexicons are compilations listing the names of geologic formations, stratigraphic classification and nomenclature.  Use them to find historical information about a formation and its relationsthip to other units.

Lexicon of Canadian Stratigraphy
Volume 4 - Western Canadian Stratigraphy is important for Alberta formations and units.
Call Number:  QE645.L38 1981 | Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Lexicon of Canadian Geological Names (Canadian Geoscience Knowledge Network)
If you look for definitions in this lexicon, you will still need to refer to the above lexicon to track down the original articles describing the formation or unit.

GEOLEX Geological Names lexicon (US Geological Survey)

Encyclopedias

Use encyclopedias for a quick summary of your topic.

Encyclopedia of Geology

Encyclopedia of Earth

Wikipedia
If all else fails!  Check with your instructor before you use a definition or content from Wikipedia.

Dictionaries

Dictionairies will provide you with alphabetical lists of terms each of which is defined.  Specialized dictionaries like the following often provide supplemental information.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
Call Number: Internet Access

Glossary of Geology
Call Number: QE5.G56 2005 | Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Oxford Reference Online - Select "Subject Reference"
Call Number: Internet Access

Xreferplus (A collection of Online Scientific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias)
Call Number: Internet Access

Subject Guides

What are Subject Guides?

Subject Guides are designed to provide students with useful information and links to resources that are helpful for completing lab reports and assignments. Select a guide on the right for your subject area.

Geochemistry

What is Geochemistry?

Geochemistry is the study of the chemical composition of the various phases of the earth and the physical and chemical processes which have produced the observed distribution of the elements in these phases.

Find Articles

Key Online Geochemistry Article Collections

Other Geochemistry Databases

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

CrossFire
Chemical structures, reactions and properties for organic and inorganic compounds from the Beilstein and Gmelin databases.

Web of Science 
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Other Geochemistry Databases

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database for human and physical geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and geomorphology.

SciFinder Scholar
Journal and patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS).

Key Online Geochemistry Article Collections

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
 

Reference Shelf

Encylcopedias

Treatise on Geochemistry
Call Number: QE515.T74 2004 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encyclopedia of Geochemistry
Call Number:  QE515.E48 1999 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

AccessScience : McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
Call Number: Internet Access

HandBooks & Manuals

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Knovel
This collection of science-related reference sources includes a number of geoscience related titles such as A practical guide to rock microstructure and Igneous rocks - a classification and glossary of terms. Searchable by keyword, author title and Table of Contents.
Call Number: Internet Access


Geology

What is Geology?

Geology is the study or science of the Earth, focusing primarily on the rocks that make up the outer part of the Earth.

Find Articles

Key Online Geology Article Collections

Other Geology Databases

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.


Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Online Geology Article Collections

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
 

Reference Shelf

Lexicons

Lexicon of Canadian Stratigraphy
Call Number:  QE645 .L38 1981 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Dictionaries

Asian Multilingual Thesaurus of GeoSciences (Internet Access)

Dictionary of Gems and Gemology
Call Number:  QE392 .M36 2000 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science (Internet Access)

Encylcopedias

AccessScience : McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
Call Number: Internet Access

Encyclopedia of Geology

Encyclopedia of Earth

HandBooks & Manuals

Knovel
This collection of science-related reference sources includes a number of geoscience related titles such as A practical guide to rock microstructure and Igneous rocks - a classification and glossary of terms. Searchable by keyword, author title and Table of Contents.

Call Number: Internet Access

 

Geophysics

What is Geophysics?

Geophysics is the study of the physics of the earth and its environment (earth, air, and space).

Find Articles

Key Online Geophysics Article Collections

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database covering journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings over the entire spectrum...

Compendex
This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Inspec
Index of publications in the field of physics, electrincal engineering and electronics.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Online Geophysics Article Collections

SEG Online Library - This comprehensive collection of articles from the SEGs publications including, Geophysics, The Leading Edge and the SEG Conferences can only be accessed from a University of Calgary IP address.

OnePetro  - contains more than 80,000 documents from a number of petroleum related organizations including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Societyo f Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA) and the American Petroleum Institute).

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.

Reference Shelf

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics and Astronomy
Call Number:  QE392.M36 2000 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Exploration Geophysics
Call Number:  TN269.S54 2002 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
Call Number:  Internet Access

HandBooks & Manuals

Seismic Data Analysis (Yilmaz)
Call Number:  TN269.Y54 2001 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Knovel
This collection of science-related reference sources includes a number of geoscience related titles such as A practical guide to rock microstructure and Igneous rocks - a classification and glossary of terms. Searchable by keyword, author title and Table of Contents.

Call Number: Internet Access

Glaciology

What is Glaciology?

Glaciology is a broad field encompassing all aspects of the study of ice.

Find Articles

Other Glaciology Databases

Find Articles

SPRILIB Ice and Snow
Glaciological literature from 1661 to the present, relating to all aspects of ice and snow worldwide.

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database for human and physical geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and geomorphology.

Arctic & Antarctic Regions
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines. Many sources are indexed only in Arctic & Antarctic Regions making it the best resource for research on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet.


Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

 

Other Glaciology Databases

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Hydrogeology

What is Hydrogeology?

Hydrogeology/hydrology is the science dealing with the waters of the Earth on the surface and within the ground, its use, and its functions in modifying the earth. 

Find Articles

Key Online Hydrogeology Article Collections

Other Hydrogeology Resources

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database for human and physical geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and geomorphology.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Other Hydrogeology Resources

Environmental Sciences library resources.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

 

Key Online Hydrogeology Article Collections

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
 

Reference Shelf

Dictionaries

Glossary of Hydrology
Call Number:  GB655 .G56 1998 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encylcopedias

Encylopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources
Call Number:  GB655 .E53 1998 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encyclopedia of Water Science (Internet Access)

Paleontology

What is Paleontology?

Paleontology is the study of animal history as recorded by fossil remains.  It lies on the boundary between geology and biology.

Find Articles

Key Online Paleontology Article Collections

Other Paleontology Databases

Other Paleontology Databases

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database for human and physical geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and geomorphology.


Find Articles

Biosis Previews
Covers the biological aspects of paleontology.

Zoological Record
Comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, etc.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Online Paleontology Article Collections

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
 

Petroleum Geoscience

What is Petroleum Geology?

Petroleum geology is the branch of economic geology dealing with the origin, occurence, movement, accumulation and exploration of hydrocarbon fuels.

Find Articles

Key Online Petroleum Article Collections

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

 

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Petroleum Abstracts  Citations and abstracts from worldwide literature on petroleum exploration, production, development, and transportation, and related environmental, safety, and health topics.

Compendex
This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Online Petroleum Article Collections

OnePetro  - contains more than 80,000 documents from a number of petroleum related organizations including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Societyo f Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA) and the American Petroleum Institute).

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
 

Reference Shelf

Lexicons

Lexicon of Canadian Stratigraphy
Call Number:  QE645 .L38 1981 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Petroleum Exploration Drilling and Production
Call Number:  TN865 .H96 1991 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Dictionary of Petrology
Call Number:  QE423 .T65 1983 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Exploration Geophysics
Call Number:  TN269 .S54 2002 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Schlumberger Oilfield Glossary (Internet Access)

Handbooks & Manuals

Basic Petroleum Databook: Petroleum Industry Statistics
Call Number:  HD9561 .B28 | Location: Reference - Taylor Family Digital Library (1st Floor)

CAPP Statistical Handbook (Internet Access)

Field Trip Guidebooks

What are guidebooks?

Guidebooks or field trip write-ups contain descriptions of the geological features along an itinerary and are great resources for local geology.  Typically they include a road log.  The University of Calgary Library has tried to collect as many regionally significant guidebooks as possible.  Our collection is by no means complete.  If you would like to donate guidebooks to us, please call (403)220-6042.

Finding Guidebooks

Use the Library Search Box to search for guidebooks that the Library owns.  Type the name of the geographic area of interest followed by these keywords (field or guidebook$).

E.g.  drumheller and (field or guidebook$)

Regional Guidebooks

The following guidebooks discuss the local geology of the Calgary area.

Geology and Landscape Evolution, Bow River Valley, Calgary, Alberta
Call Number: QE186 .C343G 1990 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Geology of the Calgary Area
Call Number:  QE186 .G46 1987 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Once Upon a River: Archaeology and Geology of the Bow River Valley at Calgary
Call Number:  QE699 .W54 1981G | Location:  Gallagher Library

Petroleum Hydrogeology in the Calgary Region
Call Number:  QE186 .P47 1995 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Soil Survey of the Calgary Urban Perimeter
Call Number:  S599.1 .A5 A43 NO.45 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Surficial Geology of the Calgary Urban Area
Call Number:  Q179.9 .B85 NO.53 | Location:  Gallagher Library Reserve

Urban Geology of Canadian Cities
Call Number:  QE185 .A1 G44G NO.42 | Location:  Gallagher Library

Maps, Air Photos & GIS Data

Geoscience Atlases

Atlas of Canada (Internet Access)

Geological Atlas of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (Internet Access)
Call Number:  QE185 .M57 1994 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-OVRSZ

Geophysical Atlas of Western Canadian Hydrocarbon Pools
Call Number:  G1117 .W526 C5 C73 1989 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-OVRSZ

The Face of Time:  the Geological History of Western Canada
Call Number:  QE185 .N44 1970G | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-OVERSZ

Find Maps

The following tools will help you locate maps for your area of interest.

University of Calgary Spatial and Numeric Data Services Desk

Spatial and Numeric Data Services provides access to maps, airphotos, GIS data and software.  Check their pages for more information.

Theses

Find Dissertations and Theses

Thesis Guidelines for Geoscience Students

B.Sc. Honour's Thesis (GLGY 510 or GOPH 509)

  1. To register for GLGY 510 or GOPH 509, please complete the form available on the Geoscience website.  Please return this form to the Undergraduate Program Coordinator in ES-118.  

  2. To extend your library privileges from two weeks to a term loan, you will need to complete an Honours Thesis Form available from the Gallagher Library desk or from the Geoscience website and have your supervisor sign it.  Return it to the Gallagher Library. 

  3. Use the University of Calgary IT Thesis Template as a guideline to format your thesis.

  4. Unless otherwise specified, use in-text citations and follow Chicago Manual of Style for your reference cited list.  

  5. You and your supervisor can decide whether or not a copy of your thesis should be placed in the Gallagher Library.  If you plan to deposit a copy with the Gallagher Library, the library copy should be bound at the Student's Union Bound and Copied.  We request that the front and back covers are red stock (thick) paper with complete title page information on it and that the thesis is coil bound.

M.Sc. Thesis or PhD Dissertation  (Please note the changes as of Sept. 1, 2012)

  1. The Library offers courses about once per term on writing and formating your thesis.  You may take one of these courses free of charge.  Consult the workshop schedule.   

  2. Follow the guidelines for University of Calgary thesis set by the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

  3. Use the University of Calgary IT Thesis Template as a guideline to format your thesis.

  4. As of September 29th, 2012, electronic thesis submission is mandatory for all students through the Faculty of Graduate Studies. 

Citing and Writing

Introduction

What is bibliographic or citation management software?

This type of software enables you to organize and format your journal article citations. In conjunction with your word processing software, you are able to write, cite, and produce bibliographies. Bibliographic software has the ability to organize your work in hundreds of writing styles.

Login to Endnote

Login to Reference Manager

Login to RefWorks

What is a style manual?

Style manuals, handbooks or guides detail acceptable formats for citing a reference in a bibliography. Their rules apply to term papers, articles, reports and theses.  For style guidelines required for specific courses, check with your instructor.  In general the Chicago Manual of Style with in-text citations is used for the geosciences.

Geology uses Chicago Manual of Style guidelines as outlined by the Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology.

Geophysics uses Chicago Manual of Style guidelines as outlined by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

Other scientific style guides

Science Style Guides - includes CSE, Harvard and IEEE   (Includes Examples)

CSE (Council of Science Editors) (Includes Examples)

EndNote

What is Endnote?

This type of software uses a database structure to help you gather and store citations. Working in conjunction with your word processing software, you are able to write, cite, and produce bibliographies. Bibliographic software has the ability to organize your work in hundreds of writing styles.

Information Resources, in collaboration with the Learning Commons, provides instruction and support to EndNote .  For more information on classes provided, please visit our instruction schedule.

Software is available for purchase from:
The Microstore over in MacEwan Student Centre
Amazon (Note: $US)
Vendor's website (Note: $US)

The University of Calgary doesn't hold a site license to any of these products.

Reference Manager

Reference Manager Tutorials

What is Reference Manager?

Reference Manager is a database program designed to manage bibliographic citations or references. It manages large numbers of article references and enables you to organize your references and produce bibliographies in numerous ciation styles. For more information see:

Filters and Output Styles

Introduction to Reference Manager Course Handout

Reference Manager Tips and Tricks Course Handout

Reference Manager FAQ

Refworks

Zotero

Mendeley

Geoscience Department

Class Instruction Guides

GLGY/GOPH 449/649 - Petrophysical Techniques (F 2014)

Popular vs Scholarly Journals

Research vs. review articles

What are articles?

Articles are the main method of communication between scientists.  They are relatively short publications (almost always less than 50 pages and more generally around 8-12 pages). They are published in journals.  Each journal issue contains several articles.

Articles are written for different reasons and different audiences.

Types of articles include:

Scholarly
Research Article (Theoretical or Experimental) 
- Written for a university audience, reports original research results, either theoretical or experimental and is organized similar to a lab report. 

Review Article - Review articles summarize the research conducted by others on a specific scientific topic.  These articles provide a good overview of a topic.   

Popular
General Science Article - An article written for a wide ranging but scientifically literate audience, such as articles found in Scientific American.

Science News Articles - These are short news articles that are found in science magazines such as New Scientist.

Popular press Articles - These articles appear in newspapers or general news magazines such as MacLeans and are written for a general audience.  

Search Tips

OR-Broadens your search strategy.
If you are searching for groundwater
OR ground water OR ground-water OR you will find articles containing any of the search terms.

AND - Narrows your search strategy.
If you are searching for (salt water
OR seawater) AND intrusion, you will find articles that contain all the search terms.

NOT- Eliminates certain details from your search strategy
If you are searching for
(salt water OR seawater) AND intrusion NOT abstract* your search will find articles on seawater intrusion and will remove those items which are conference abstracts only, not scientific articles. 

Find Books and Journals

Key Online Petroleum Article Collections

OnePetro  - contains more than 80,000 documents from a number of petroleum related organizations including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA) and the American Petroleum Institute).

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.

Finding Scientific Articles

Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across broad areas of research.  

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

**Can limit document type to Review using drop down menu.

Petroleum Abstracts  Citations and abstracts from worldwide literature on petroleum exploration, production, development, and transportation, and related environmental, safety, and health topics.

Indexes articles relating to the upstream petroleum sector.  Use the thesaurus to search for Alberta - your field or formation may be listed individually.

Compendex
This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area, but it also indexes articles about groundwater and soil contamination. 

Covers geology back to 1785.  

Most of the databases above link to fulltext content.  Look for the  to link to full text content.  

Effective Citing and Writing

Citation Style for GLGY/GOPH 449/649

For this course any style that incorporates the article title, the title of the journal and/or book title within the citation is acceptable.  

 

Some examples include:

 

American Association of Petroleum Geologists

 

Writing a Literature Review - This guide is designed for writing education and social sciences papers however the principles are the same for writing a geoscience paper.

 

 

Citation Software

Mendeley enables you to organize, share and discover research papers.

Library Workshops 
Check the workshop calendar for sessions on Endnote (Yellow), Refworks (Red), and Mendeley (Mauve).  Workshops on data visualization and formatting your thesis are also offered.  

Plagiarism Tutorial

You Quote it, You Note it from Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University.(Requires Adobe Flash Player)

Critical Reading Table - Use this table to take notes as you read your articles.  It will assist you in paraphrasing. 


GLGY493 - Evolution of Earth Through Life and Time (F 2017)

Library Research for GLGY 493 - What's on this Page?

This guide will introduce you to library resources and tools that you will use to research your selected topic in Early Earth history.  This guide will provide you with strategies that you can use for searching for and collecting the scholarly articles that you will need to complete your research presentation.  

What's on this Page?

Session Goals

Effective Citing and Writing

Finding Scholarly Articles

Effective Searching

Supplementary Material

  • Popular vs. Scholarly Journals
  • Research vs. Review Articles
  • Types of Scholarly Articles
  • Focusing Your Topic

Session Goals

At the end of this session you should be able to:

Effective Citing and Writing

Citation Style for GLGY493

Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences ReferencingCritical Reading Chart

Use the Critical Reading Chart (link above) to help you summarize and synthesize the research articles that you read.  

Citation Software

Mendeley enables you to organize, share and discover

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across broad areas of research.  Use the Find It UofC link to connect to university subscribed online content.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area, but it also indexes articles about groundwater and soil contamination.  Covers geology back to 1785.
Note:  You can remove conference abstracts (abstracts only) from your search results by selecting "Exclude Abstracts Only" from your search.

Other Databases
Search the alphabetical list of databases for others that would be stronger for your topic.  For example:  Biosis (for paleontological or biological topics) or Web of Science.  

Interlibrary Loan Request Form  - Use to request material that the University of Calgary library does not have.


Most of the databases above link to fulltext content.  Look for the  to link to full text content.  

Effective Searching

Part 1-Identify Search Terms or Keywords
Start with a list of keywords for your topic - synonyms, variant spellings and scientific names for key concepts. For this assignment you will also want to consider the following:

  • When and where did/does your event/deposit occur (temporal, geographical, and geological context)

  • How is your topic important to Earth history?

  • How is the topic relevant to modern inhabitants of the Earth?

 

Part 2-Use Boolean Operators such as "AND" and "OR" to Structure Your Search

Boolean operators
allow you to specify a logical relationship between your search terms. These operators allow you to narrow or broaden your search statement. Truncation or Wildcard symbols (e.g. * or ?) allow you to retrieve variations of a specific word.

 

AND narrows your search
(Finds articles with all your search terms)

Examples:

  • ground?water  and  pharmaceutical

  • groundwater  and drug*

OR broadens your search
(Finds articles with any of the search terms).

Examples:

  • groundwater or ground water or ground-water 

  • pharmaceutical* or  drug*

Phrase Searching
Finds search terms that are adjacent or next to each other.

Examples:

  • "pharmaceutical contamination"
  • "ground water"
 

Truncation and Wildcard symbols

In many online resources  use the asterisk  * to find plurals or variant spellings
*Make sure the word you are truncating is not too short as you will retrieve too many variations of your word otherwise.

Examples:

  • drug*  will retrieve
    drug, drugs

  • ground?water  will retrieve
    groundwater, ground water, ground-water

Supplementary Material

 


Types of Scholarly Articles

Articles are the main method of communication between scientists.  They are relatively short publications (almost always less than 50 pages and more generally around 8-12 pages).  They are published in journals.  Each journal issue contains several articles.

Scholarly Articles are peer reviewed and can be classified as:

Research Article (Theoretical or Experimental) - Written for a university audience, reports original research results, either theoretical or experimental and is organized similar to a lab report.

Review Article - Review articles summarize the research conducted by others on a specific scientific topic.  These articles provide a good overview of a topic.

Other types of Articles

Extended Abstracts - Extended abstracts tend to be 4-5 pages in length and are papers that are presented at a conference. Extended abstracts may or may not be peer reviewed.   


Focusing Your topic

 

This can provide you strategies that you can use for collecting the information you will need to successfully complete your research paper.

Coming up with a suitable topic for your paper is hard work.  It is difficult to write about things you have very little knowledge on.  Before jumping straight into searching the web or research databases for information, allow yourself to explore general topic areas. 

    1. First, brainstorm possible topics
       
      • What topic(s) interest(s) you
      • Why did you choose this topic?
      • Have you learned about this topic in class?  What have you learned about this topic?  List things you know to be true, and things you are not so sure about.
      • Do you know some one who has knowledge about this topic?  What do they know about it?
         
    2. You will then need to find a focus for your paper.  Use sources such as your textbook, course readings or Wikipedia to learn about the details, nuances and issues related to your topic.  Try to find a review article on your topic in either Scopus or Web of Science.
       
    3. Review the notes that you collected, looking at the themes and issues that stood out as you did your reading.  Make a list of possible foci for your research.  Above all, chose something that you find interesting, the will meet the requirements of your assignment, that has enough information and that you have enough time to tackle.   

GLGY 505 - Contaminant Hydrogeology (W 2017)

Library Research for Geology 505

The purpose of your assignment in Geology 505 is to develop a familiarity with the research literature in hydrogeology.  You can use this resource guide to find papers related to your topic.

Find Articles

Top Groundwater Journals

This list is provided to give you a sense of which groundwater journals have the highest reputations.  I have provided you with links directly to the online content of these journals. If you find that the University does not hold the volume/issue for something that you are looking for, please submit a request through Interlibrary Loan.

**What does the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) mean?  The impact factor is the average number of times articles from a journal published within the last two years have been cited.  Impact factors are calculated for journals indexed by Web of Science.  Not all journals are indexed by Web of Science, therefore not all journals have impact factors.  Wikipedia has an excellent entry explaining impact factors

Searching Effectively

Part 1-Identify Search Terms or Keywords
Start with a list of keywords for your topic - synonyms, variant spellings and scientific names for key concepts.

Find articles about the the pharmaceutical contamination of groundwater.   

Part 2-Use Boolean Operators such as "AND" and "OR" to Structure Your Search

Boolean operators
allow you to specify a logical relationship between your search terms. These operators allow you to narrow or broaden your search statement. Truncation or Wildcard symbols (e.g. * or ?) allow you to retrieve variations of a specific word.


AND narrows your search
(Finds articles with all your search terms)

Examples:

  • ground?water  and  pharmaceutical

  • groundwater  and drug*

OR broadens your search
(Finds articles with any of the search terms).

Examples:

  • groundwater or ground water or ground-water 

  • pharmaceutical* or  drug*

Phrase Searching
Finds search terms that are adjacent or next to each other.

Examples:

  • "pharmaceutical contamination"
  • "ground water"
 

Truncation and Wildcard symbols

In many online resources  use the asterisk  * to find plurals or variant spellings
*Make sure the word you are truncating is not too short as you will retrieve too many variations of your word otherwise.

Examples:

  • drug*  will retrieve
    drug, drugs

  • ground?water  will retrieve
    groundwater, ground water, ground-water

Key Online Journal Collections

Citing your Sources

The preferred citation style for GLGY 505 is the American Geophysical Union

You can use software to help you gather, store, and manage your citations.

GLGY535 - Early Earth Evolution (F 2014)

Guide Objectives

Over the course of the semester your group will be develoing a literature review on a topic related to Early Earth.  Based on the topic that you and your group members decide on, you will want to think about the following:

  • What do you already know about your selected topic?
  • What information will you need to collect for your project?

    This guide provides strategies that you can use for collecting the information you will need to successfully complete your project.

      Popular vs Scholarly Journals

    Research vs. review articles

    Types of Scholarly Articles

    Articles are the main method of communication between scientists.  They are relatively short publications (almost always less than 50 pages and more generally around 8-12 pages). They are published in journals.  Each journal issue contains several articles.

    Scholarly Articles are peer-reviewed and can be classified as:

    Research Article (Theoretical or Experimental)  - Written for a university audience, reports original research results, either theoretical or experimental and is organized similar to a lab report. 

    Review Article - Review articles summarize the research conducted by others on a specific scientific topic.  These articles provide a good overview of a topic.   

    Other Types of Articles

    Extended Abstracts - Extended abstracts tend to be 4-5 pages in length and are papers that are presented at a conference.  Extended abstracts may or may not be peer reviewed.  

    Find Books and Journals

    Focusing your Topic

    This guide provides strategies that you can use for collecting the information you will need to successfully complete your research paper.

    Coming up with a suitable topic for your paper is hard work.  It is difficult to write about things you have very little knowledge on.  Before jumping straight into searching the web or research databases for information, allow yourself to explore general topic areas. 

      1. First, brainstorm possible topics

        • What topic(s) interest(s) you
        • Why did you choose this topic?
        • Have you learned about this topic in class?  What have you learned about this topic?  List things you know to be true, and things you are not so sure about.
        • Do you know some one who has knowledge about this topic?  What do they know about it?

      2. You will then need to find a focus for your paper.  Use sources such as your textbook, course readings or Wikipedia to learn about the details, nuances and issues related to your topic.  Try to find a review article on your topic in either Scopus or Web of Science.

      3. Review the notes that you collected, looking at the themes and issues that stood out as you did your reading.  Make a list of possible foci for your research.  Above all, chose something that you find interesting, the will meet the requirements of your assignment, that has enough information and that you have enough time to tackle.   

    Search Tips

    OR-Broadens your search strategy
    If you do a search on groundwater OR ground water OR ground-water you will find articles containing any of the search terms.

    AND - Narrows your search
    If you do a search on (salt water f
    OR seawater) AND intrusion, you will find articles that contain all the search terms.

    NOT- Eliminates certain details from your search strategy
    If you do a search on (salt water OR seawater) AND intrusion NOT abstract*, you will find articles on seawater intrusion and will remove those items which are conference abstracts only, not scientific articles. 

    Finding Scientific Articles

    Google Scholar
    Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across broad areas of research.  Use the Find It UofC link to connect to university subscribed online content.

    GeoRef
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area, but it also indexes articles about groundwater and soil contamination.  Covers geology back to 1785.
    Note:  You can remove conference abstracts (abstracts only) from your search results by selecting "Exclude Abstracts Only" from your search.

    Scopus
    An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

    Web of Science
    Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.present in the sciences and social sciences.  

    Interlibrary Loan Request Form.  - Use to request material that the University of Calgary library does not have.


    Most of the databases above link to fulltext content.  Look for the  to link to full text content.  

    Effective Citing and Writing

    Citation Style for GLGY535

    Geological Society of America (look at the Manuscript Template under Author Information)

    Critical Reading Chart

    Use the Critical Reading Chart (link below) to help you summarize and synthesize the research articles that you will be reading.  

    Citation Software

    Mendeley enables you to organize, share and discover

    Writing a Literature Review - This guide is designed for writing education and social sciences papers however the principles are the same for writing a geoscience paper.  

    Plagiarism Tutorial

    You Quote it, You Note it from Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University.(Requires Adobe Flash Player)

    GLGY555 - Global Tectonics (F2017)

    Library Research for GLGY 555 - What's on this Page?

    This guide will introduce you to library resources and tools that you will use to research your selected topic in Early Earth history.  This guide will provide you with strategies that you can use for searching for and collecting the scholarly articles that you will need to complete your research presentation.  

    Session Goals

    At the end of this session you will be able to:

    • Use Google Scholar, ScopusWeb of Science or GeoRef  to obtain scholarly articles relevant to your topic.
    • Find at least one review article and one research article on your topic using one of the databases discussed.
    • Understand how you might need to focus or limit your topic.
    • Cite and reference your sources using the style based on the journal Geology.   

    Finding Relevant Articles

    • Identifying different types of scholarly scientific information
    • Search Tools
    • Search Techniques

    Narrowing your Topic

    Effective Citing and Writing

    Supplementary Material

    • Popular vs. Scholarly Journals
    • Research vs. Review Articles
    • Types of Scholarly Articles
    • Focusing Your Topic

    Finding Relevant Articles

    Google Scholar
    Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across broad areas of research.  Use the Find It UofC link to connect to university subscribed online content. 

    Scopus
    An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

    Web of Science
    Indexes core journals, conference proceedings, data sets and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.  

    GeoRef
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area, but it also indexes articles about groundwater and soil contamination.  Covers geology back to 1785.
    Note:  You can remove conference abstracts (abstracts only) from your search results by selecting "Exclude Abstracts Only" from your search 

    Interlibrary Loan Request Form  - Use to request material that the University of Calgary library does not have.


    Most of the databases above link to fulltext content.  Look for the  to link to full text content.  

    Effective Citing and Writing

    Citation Style for GLGY555

    Geology journal (This is a printable reference guide with examples for your references cited section.  For guidance on how to write in-text citations, consult the Manuscript Guidelines.  For information on how to format your reference list, consult the GSA Reference Style Guide

    Critical Reading Chart

    Use the Critical Reading Chart (link below) to help you summarize and synthesize the research articles that you will be reading.  

    Citation Software

    Mendeley enables you to organize, share and discover

    Writing a Literature Review - This guide is designed for writing education and social sciences papers however the principles are the same for writing a geoscience paper.  

    You Quote it, You Note it from Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University.(Requires Adobe Flash Player)

    Narrowing your Topic

    Part 1-Identify Search Terms or Keywords
    Start with a list of keywords for your topic - synonyms, variant spellings and scientific names for key concepts. For this assignment you will also want to consider the following:

    • When and where did/does your event/deposit occur (temporal, geographical, and geological context)

    • How is your topic important to Earth history?

    • How is the topic relevant to modern inhabitants of the Earth?

    Part 2-Use Boolean Operators such as "AND" and "OR" to Structure Your Search

    Boolean operators
    allow you to specify a logical relationship between your search terms. These operators allow you to narrow or broaden your search statement. Truncation or Wildcard symbols (e.g. * or ?) allow you to retrieve variations of a specific word.

    AND narrows your search
    (Finds articles with all your search terms)

    Examples:

    • ground?water  and  pharmaceutical

    • groundwater  and drug*

    OR broadens your search
    (Finds articles with any of the search terms).

    Examples:

    • groundwater or ground water or ground-water 

    • pharmaceutical* or  drug*

    Phrase Searching
    Finds search terms that are adjacent or next to each other.

    Examples:

    • "pharmaceutical contamination"
    • "ground water"
     

    Truncation and Wildcard symbols

    In many online resources  use the asterisk  * to find plurals or variant spellings
    *Make sure the word you are truncating is not too short as you will retrieve too many variations of your word otherwise.

    Examples:

    • drug*  will retrieve
      drug, drugs

    • ground?water  will retrieve
      groundwater, ground water, ground-water

    Supplementary Material


    Types of Scholarly Articles

    Articles are the main method of communication between scientists.  They are relatively short publications (almost always less than 50 pages and more generally around 8-12 pages).  They are published in journals.  Each journal issue contains several articles.

    Scholarly Articles are peer reviewed and can be classified as:

    Research Article (Theoretical or Experimental) - Written for a university audience, reports original research results, either theoretical or experimental and is organized similar to a lab report.

    Review Article - Review articles summarize the research conducted by others on a specific scientific topic.  These articles provide a good overview of a topic.

    Other types of Articles

    Extended Abstracts - Extended abstracts tend to be 4-5 pages in length and are papers that are presented at a conference. Extended abstracts may or may not be peer reviewed.   


    Focusing Your topic

     

    This can provide you strategies that you can use for collecting the information you will need to successfully complete your research paper.

    Coming up with a suitable topic for your paper is hard work.  It is difficult to write about things you have very little knowledge on.  Before jumping straight into searching the web or research databases for information, allow yourself to explore general topic areas. 

      1. First, brainstorm possible topics
         
        • What topic(s) interest(s) you
        • Why did you choose this topic?
        • Have you learned about this topic in class?  What have you learned about this topic?  List things you know to be true, and things you are not so sure about.
        • Do you know some one who has knowledge about this topic?  What do they know about it?
           
      2. You will then need to find a focus for your paper.  Use sources such as your textbook, course readings or Wikipedia to learn about the details, nuances and issues related to your topic.  Try to find a review article on your topic in either Scopus or Web of Science.
         
      3. Review the notes that you collected, looking at the themes and issues that stood out as you did your reading.  Make a list of possible foci for your research.  Above all, chose something that you find interesting, the will meet the requirements of your assignment, that has enough information and that you have enough time to tackle.   

    GOPH565 - Environmental Applications of Geophysics (F 2014)

    Focusing your Topic

    Over the course of a semester you will be developing a field acquisition plan of a geophysical problem in the near-surface.  Based on the scenerio that your group has been assigned, think about the following:

    • What do you already know about your scenario?
    • What information will you need to collect for your project?

      This guide provides strategies that you can use for collecting the information you will need to successfully complete your project.

        Popular vs Scholarly Journals

      Research vs. review articles

      Plagiarism Tutorial

      You Quote it, You Note it from Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University.(Requires Adobe Flash Player)

      Here's a follow up link to the Department of Biology page on Academic Honesty.

      Search Tips

      OR-Broadens your search strategy.
      If you are searching for groundwater
      OR ground water OR ground-water OR you will find articles containing any of the search terms.

      AND - Narrows your search strategy.
      If you are searching for (salt water
      OR saltwater OR sea water OR seawater) AND intrusion, you will find articles that contain all the search terms.

      NOT- Eliminates certain details from your search strategy
      If you are searching for
      (salt water OR seawater) AND intrusion NOT abstract* your search will find articles on seawater intrusion and will remove those items which are conference abstracts only, not scientific articles. 

      Finding Scientific Articles

      Google Scholar
      Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across broad areas of research.

      Scopus (Elsevier) 
      This abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

      Web of Science
      Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

      ONEPetro
      Search OnePetro for access to Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE Papers). 

      GeoRef
      Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area, but it also indexes articles about groundwater and soil contamination.  Covers geology back to 1785.
      Note:  You can remove conference abstracts (abstracts only) from your search results by selecting "Exclude Abstracts Only" from your search.

      Compendex
      This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.

      Interlibrary Loan Request Form.  - Use to request material that the University of Calgary library does not have.


      Most of the databases above link to fulltext content.  Look for the  to link to full text content.  

      Types of Scholarly Articles

      Articles are the main method of communication between scientists.  They are relatively short publications (almost always less than 50 pages and more generally around 8-12 pages). They are published in journals.  Each journal issue contains several articles.

      Scholarly Articles are peer-reviewed and can be classified as:

      Research Article (Theoretical or Experimental)  - Written for a university audience, reports original research results, either theoretical or experimental and is organized similar to a lab report. 

      Review Article - Review articles summarize the research conducted by others on a specific scientific topic.  These articles provide a good overview of a topic.   

      Other Types of Articles

      Extended Abstracts - Extended abstracts tend to be 4-5 pages in length and are papers that are presented at a conference.  Extended abstracts may or may not be peer reviewed.  

      Effective Citing and Writing

       

      Citation Style for GOPH565

      American Geophysical Union (Scroll down to #7 - References)

      Writing a Literature Review - This guide is designed for writing education and social sciences papers however the principles are the same for writing a geoscience paper.  Address the following:

      • What is the question?  The problem being address in the article.
      • The scales of interest for this problem.  Why is it interesting?
      • What was predicted?
      • The geophysical methods used?  What was done?
      • What was found?
      • Why was this the most relevant paper?  What are the implications of the study? 

      Citation Software
      Citation management software can be used to collect, organize and format citations and create bibliographies.

      Tools supported on campus include:

      Mendeley 

      Critical Reading Chart

      Use the Critical Reading Chart (link below) to help you summarize and synthesize the research articles that you will be reading.  

       

      Contact

      Contact

      Claudette Cloutier's picture
      Claudette Cloutier
      Contact:
      Taylor Family Digital Library
      410 University Court NW
      Calgary, AB T2N 1N4
      403-220-3447