Skip to main content

Geosciences

A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics

What is Geochemistry?

Geochemistry is the study of the chemical composition of the various phases of the earth and the physical and chemical processes which have produced the observed distribution of the elements in these phases.

Find Articles

Key Online Geochemistry Article Collections

Other Geochemistry Databases

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

CrossFire
Chemical structures, reactions and properties for organic and inorganic compounds from the Beilstein and Gmelin databases.

Web of Science 
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Other Geochemistry Databases

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database for human and physical geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and geomorphology.

SciFinder Scholar
Journal and patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS).

Key Online Geochemistry Article Collections

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
 

Reference Shelf

Encylcopedias

Treatise on Geochemistry
Call Number: QE515.T74 2004 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encyclopedia of Geochemistry
Call Number:  QE515.E48 1999 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

AccessScience : McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
Call Number: Internet Access

HandBooks & Manuals

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Knovel
This collection of science-related reference sources includes a number of geoscience related titles such as A practical guide to rock microstructure and Igneous rocks - a classification and glossary of terms. Searchable by keyword, author title and Table of Contents.
Call Number: Internet Access