Skip to main content

Geosciences

A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics

What is Geophysics?

Geophysics is the study of the physics of the earth and its environment (earth, air, and space).

Find Articles

Key Online Geophysics Article Collections

Reference Shelf

Find Articles

Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database covering journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings over the entire spectrum...

Compendex
This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Inspec
Index of publications in the field of physics, electrincal engineering and electronics.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Online Geophysics Article Collections

SEG Online Library - This comprehensive collection of articles from the SEGs publications including, Geophysics, The Leading Edge and the SEG Conferences can only be accessed from a University of Calgary IP address.

OnePetro  - contains more than 80,000 documents from a number of petroleum related organizations including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Societyo f Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA) and the American Petroleum Institute).

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.

Reference Shelf

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics and Astronomy
Call Number:  QE392.M36 2000 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Exploration Geophysics
Call Number:  TN269.S54 2002 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
Call Number:  Internet Access

HandBooks & Manuals

Seismic Data Analysis (Yilmaz)
Call Number:  TN269.Y54 2001 | Location:  Gallagher Library GEO-REF

Knovel
This collection of science-related reference sources includes a number of geoscience related titles such as A practical guide to rock microstructure and Igneous rocks - a classification and glossary of terms. Searchable by keyword, author title and Table of Contents.

Call Number: Internet Access