Skip to main content

Geosciences

A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics

What is Paleontology?

Paleontology is the study of animal history as recorded by fossil remains.  It lies on the boundary between geology and biology.

Find Articles

Key Online Paleontology Article Collections

Other Paleontology Databases

Other Paleontology Databases

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database for human and physical geography, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and geomorphology.


Find Articles

Biosis Previews
Covers the biological aspects of paleontology.

Zoological Record
Comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, etc.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

Web of Science
 Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.

Key Online Paleontology Article Collections

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.