Skip to main content

Alert: High Density Library Closure | November 24 - 26

Geosciences

A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics

Popular vs Scholarly Journals

Research vs. review articles

What are articles?

Articles are the main method of communication between scientists.  They are relatively short publications (almost always less than 50 pages and more generally around 8-12 pages). They are published in journals.  Each journal issue contains several articles.

Articles are written for different reasons and different audiences.

Types of articles include:

Scholarly
Research Article (Theoretical or Experimental) 
- Written for a university audience, reports original research results, either theoretical or experimental and is organized similar to a lab report. 

Review Article - Review articles summarize the research conducted by others on a specific scientific topic.  These articles provide a good overview of a topic.   

Popular
General Science Article - An article written for a wide ranging but scientifically literate audience, such as articles found in Scientific American.

Science News Articles - These are short news articles that are found in science magazines such as New Scientist.

Popular press Articles - These articles appear in newspapers or general news magazines such as MacLeans and are written for a general audience.  

Search Tips

OR-Broadens your search strategy.
If you are searching for groundwater
OR ground water OR ground-water OR you will find articles containing any of the search terms.

AND - Narrows your search strategy.
If you are searching for (salt water
OR seawater) AND intrusion, you will find articles that contain all the search terms.

NOT- Eliminates certain details from your search strategy
If you are searching for
(salt water OR seawater) AND intrusion NOT abstract* your search will find articles on seawater intrusion and will remove those items which are conference abstracts only, not scientific articles. 

Find Books and Journals

Key Online Petroleum Article Collections

OnePetro  - contains more than 80,000 documents from a number of petroleum related organizations including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA) and the American Petroleum Institute).

AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.

Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers.  It is fully linked to GeoRef.

Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.

Finding Scientific Articles

Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports across broad areas of research.  

Scopus
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 

**Can limit document type to Review using drop down menu.

Petroleum Abstracts  Citations and abstracts from worldwide literature on petroleum exploration, production, development, and transportation, and related environmental, safety, and health topics.

Indexes articles relating to the upstream petroleum sector.  Use the thesaurus to search for Alberta - your field or formation may be listed individually.

Compendex
This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.

GeoRef
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world.  Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area, but it also indexes articles about groundwater and soil contamination. 

Covers geology back to 1785.  

Most of the databases above link to fulltext content.  Look for the  to link to full text content.  

Effective Citing and Writing

Citation Style for GLGY/GOPH 449/649

For this course any style that incorporates the article title, the title of the journal and/or book title within the citation is acceptable.  

 

Some examples include:

 

American Association of Petroleum Geologists

 

Writing a Literature Review - This guide is designed for writing education and social sciences papers however the principles are the same for writing a geoscience paper.

 

 

Citation Software

Mendeley enables you to organize, share and discover research papers.

Library Workshops 
Check the workshop calendar for sessions on Endnote (Yellow), Refworks (Red), and Mendeley (Mauve).  Workshops on data visualization and formatting your thesis are also offered.  

Plagiarism Tutorial

You Quote it, You Note it from Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University.(Requires Adobe Flash Player)

Critical Reading Table - Use this table to take notes as you read your articles.  It will assist you in paraphrasing.