Your one-stop for reference sources such as encyclopedias, abbreviations, biographies, dictionaries and more.
The Canadian Encyclopedia - This is considered the most comprehensive encyclopedic source on all things Canadian.
Ebook Central – ( Uof C only)This collection of ebooks contains many reference titles in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (U of C only) - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Includes over 100 good basic reference materials, searchable individually or as a group
World Encyclopedia (U of C Only) – This Oxford University Press encyclopedia features concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture
Credo Reference (U of C only) - online encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri, covering topics from A to Z
InfoPlease: Access more than 57,000 articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences - (U of C Only) - "..the largest corpus of knowledge about the social and behavioral sciences in existence.. the social science equivalent of the Egyptian pyramids..one of the great wonders of the scientific world. ..the Web-based version of the Encyclopedia fully unleashes the power, complexity, and organization of this monumental work." Also available in the TFDL general collection: H41 .I55 2001
- Last Updated: Nov 23, 2017 11:06 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/referencetools
- Print Page