Skip to main content

Philosophy: Find Articles

Guide to Research Resources for Philosophy

Databases: Philosophy

NOTE:  While the Library search box will provide access to books and journal articles, this search will not retrieve  many of the articles located through a direct search of the indexes below:
 

Key Philosophy Databases

Key General Databases

  • BASE Bielefield Academic Search Engine - great index to open access articles
  • JSTOR: complete, full-text back issues of a more than 510 journals including over 22 Philosophy Journals
  • Project Muse: full-text of over 250 scholarly journals, 13 titles focussed on Philosophy
  • Web of Science: indexes more than 1300 leading arts and humanities journals, Includes citation searching
  • Google Scholar -  good source to pull resources from a variety of disciplinary areas - this link allows University of Calgary students, faculty and staff to access University of Calgary full-text subscriptions 
     

Useful Databases from other disciplines include:

  • ATLA Religion Database
  • Literature Online: 168 full-text literature journals; also includes the full text of some of the works of various philosophers. Can search by keyword, author, title, literary period, literary movement, nationality etc.
  • Literature Resource Center  - "is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more." It includes biographical and secondary material on a number of philosophers including: Descartes, Boyle, Locke, Leibniz, Hume, Kant, Cudwork and Berkeley.
  • PubMed: good source for locating articles on bioethics
  • History of Science, Technology and Medicine: good for locating articles on the philosophy of science
  • Database of Classical  Bibliography: good for research on classical philosophy and philosophers

Consult the Databases by Subject for a guide to key databases in other disciplines as well as a complete listing of databases useful for Philosophy .