Guide to Research Resources for Philosophy
Theses & Dissertation: Philosophy
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ( free full text electronic access to many theses published since the 1990’s, and a select number from earlier years) is the key tool for locating theses and disserations.
Resources focused on listing Philosophy theses include :
FRANCIS – includes French and other foreign language dissertations in the humanities, social sciences and economics from 1984 to the present.
Other Sources for Theses and Dissertations
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations - indexes over 1 million theses both open access and restricted
OpenDOAR - Open Access Theses and Dissertations - index of over 1.5 electronic theses and dissertations limited to those that are free available.
Dissertation Reviews - "Founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a new site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Our goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication."
ETD - Electronic Theses Worldwide - freely available dissertations
Centre for Research Libraries – a collection of over 20,000 doctoral dissertations from outside Canada and the U.S. Search by title, author or keyword. Items in this database may be obtained by interlibrary loan through U of C’s Document Delivery Services.
Cyberthesis - single search engine for over 50.000 full text theses stored in 27 ETDs from a variety of countries.
PhD Data.org - doctoral dissertations in progress
Worldcat - Change " Subtype limits" for "any content" to " Thesis/Dissertation". Note: Some results may be later edited publications of original dissertations. Note you can also use Worldcat.org which allows you to limit results to dissertations but record information is not as detailed
Resources for locating theses and dissertations from specific countries or regions:
Australia - Trove (National Library of Australia) - in advanced search you can limit type to thesis
Austria - Austrian dissertations database
Brazil - BDTD (Biblioteca Digial de Teses e Dissertacoes) - Theses and dissertations from Brazilian universities
Britain - British Library EthOS - provides free access to many British dissertations
Canada - Library and Archives Canada Theses Portal – provides access to the National Library of Canada theses collection, 1965 - over 300,000 theses with over 50,000 available in fulltext
Germany - German National Library
France - Thèses - French Doctoral theses since 1985, includes theses in progress
France - Sudoc
India - Union Database of Theses
Italy - Pleiadi - database of material held in repositories in Italy including dissertations
Mexico - Tesis UNAM
Netherlands - NARCIS - Theses and dissertations and research publications from the Netherlands
Portugal - RCAAP - union catalog of digital content from over 30 institutions in Portugal.
Scandinavia - DIVA - Theses and Dissertations and research publications from 26 institutions in Scandinavia.
South Africa - National ETD Portal - Metadata for all theses and dissertations produced in South Africa
South Africa - South African Theses and Dissertations (National ETD Portal)
Spain - Spain's Ministry of Education Thesis Database(Teseo)
Spain - Universidad Complutense Madrid
Spain - Dialnet - index to Spanish theses, provides fulltext access for many works
Spain - TDX (Tesis Doctorals en Xarxa) - over 58,000 thesis - almost half with full-text
Sweden - Dissertations.se - search over 26,000 Englisn-language Swedish dissertations - many are available fulltext
Switzerland - Swiss National Library
Taiwan - National Digital Library of Taiwan
- Last Updated: Feb 27, 2018 4:40 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/phil
- Print Page