Skip to main content

Philosophy

Guide to Research Resources for Philosophy

Finding Articles for Medieval and Renaissance Period

Philosopher's Index  -  Note if you select "Choose Database" and then select "search all" you will be able with one search to look for articles in all EbscoHost databases which include Philosopher's  Index as well as ATLA Religion Database, Academic Search Complete and Humanities Internationa)

PhilPapers

eCollection (Journals from Philosophy Document Centre)  -  fulltext of  42 philosophy journals

International Medieval Bibliography  - key source for journal articles and essays on Medieval philosophy

ITER : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  -  also an excellent source for journal articles and essays on philosophers of the Medieval and Renaissance periods

JSTOR -  fulltext of a number of philosophy journals

History of Science, Technology and Medicine  - excellent resource for philosophers of science such as Cardano, Telesio and Campanella

Index Islamicus -  major resource for locating books and articles on Islam and the Muslim world

RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies  

Literature Online  -  great source for locating articles about authors

Finding Primary Texts for philosophers of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance

Defining Gender (1450-1910)  - orginal source documents from British and European Archives  - includes texts by Heloise d'Argenteuil and Christine de Pizan

Early English Books  -  " digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 "

Past Masters    -    Augustine, Abelard, Anslem, Aquinas, Ockham, Poinsot.  See also section:  The Latin Background  1100-1550  (includes texts for Bacon, Fox, John of Salisbury, Thomas à Beckett, Wycliff

Patrologia Latina  -  works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

Analytic Bibliography of Online  Neo-Latin Texts

Background Information on Medieval and Renaissance Period

In addition to using the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy or the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, there are a nunber of encyclopedias focussed on the medieval and/or renaissance period including:

Cambridge Companion to Abelard  -  location

Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's Writing

Dictionary of the Middles Ages

Encyclopedia Iranica -  major entry for Ibn Sina

History of Women Philosophers - location   -  v. 2. Mediaeval, Renaissance and Enlightenment women philosophers, A.D. 500-1600 

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia

Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia - location

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance - longer articles

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Renaissance

NOTE: Credo Reference is an excellent source of encyclopedia articles from a wide variety of sources and will link to entries in Gale Virtual Reference Library (these tend to much longer articles).

Finding books on Medieval and Renaissance Period

Use the Library Search box to locate print and digital books in the University of Calgary collection

You can also separately search ebrary (collection of over 30,000 digital books) and other digital collections such as HathiTrust -  partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Note Interlibrary loans service is available at no charge to obtain a copy of books and articles the library does not have in its collection.

Web sites for Philosophers in the Medieval and Renaissance Period

Digital Averroes Research Environment - Include a searchable bibliography of secondary material and collection of his texts (33 are available fulltext)