Skip to main content

Philosophy

Guide to Research Resources for Philosophy

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries: Aristotle, Peirce and Quine

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias are good sources for background information on your topic:

Key Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for the Philosophy of Science  (See also Philosophy Dictionaries and Encyclopedias)

See also Outline of concepts in Philosophy of Mind in the Indiana Philosophy Ontology Project

Handbooks:Aristotle, Peirce and Quine

Finding Books: Aristotle, Peirce and Quine

To locate works written by and about Aristotle, Peirce and Quine held by the library use the library search box.

Other useful sources include:

Find Articles: Aristotle, Peirce and Quine

Key databases are:

History of  Science Technology and Medicine

IsisCBExplore  - extensive index to articles on the history of science

Philosophers Index

PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy -  database of online philosophy articles and books, Can browse current issues of almost 200 philosophy journals.  Browse Philosophy of Mind section

eCollection (Journals from Philosophy Document Centre)  -  fulltext of  42 philosophy journals

JSTOR - complete full-text back issues of more than 600 scholarly journals including a number of Philosophy of Science titles such as British Journal for the Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Science, PSA: Proceedings of the Biennial Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Association,  Science, Technology and Human Values and Transactions of the Charles S Peirce Society.

Google Scholar

See also General list of databases for Philosophy