Skip to main content

Asian Studies

This is a guide to research resources for east and south Asian studies.

Handbooks

Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific: Call Number: HA 4551 S73 2011  Location

Asian Studies Contact

Contact Info:
For research help, please contact your subject librarian or:

Rosvita Vaska, East Asian Studies
vaska@ucalgary.ca

Saundra Lipton, South Asian Studies
lipton@ucalgary.ca

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - Asian Studies

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are wonderful tools for locating background information on a topic and will often direct you to key books and articles on your subject.  

Below I have listed a few examples.  To quickly locate  encyclopedias on your topic, enter your topic "and encyclopedia' in the search box on the library home page or check the library catalogue for a comprehensive listing of encyclopedias and dictionaires on your topic. Search the library catalogue for " (encyc$ or dicts$) and your topic" limiting both to the subject field.  For example if you were researching in the area of Japanese politics try - Japan$ and politic$ and (encyc$ or dict$)

General  |   History  | Language | Literature  |  Philosophy  |  Political Science  |  Religion

General

History

  • Encyclopaedia of Asian History - 4 vols.
    Call Number: DS 31 E52 1988 Location
  • China : a Cultural and Historical Dictionary
    Call Number: DS 733 C58 1998  Location
  • Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea
    Call Number: DS 909 N34 1993   Location
  • The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldies
    Call Number: DS 334.9 C36 1989  Location

Language

Literature

  • Asian American Playwrights: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook
    - also available in print PS 338 A74 A85 2002
  • Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Literature
    Call Number:  PL 723 B54 1976  Location
  • Encyclopaedia of Indian Literature
    Call Number:  PK 2902 E52 1987  Location
  • Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
    Call Number:
    PL2265 .I53 1986  Location
    - very good for overviews of sacred texts including Daoist Canon
  • Who's Who in Korean Literature
    Call Number:  PL 95.7 W46 1996  Location

Philosophy

Political Science

Religion