Skip to main content

Asian Studies

This is a guide to research resources for east and south Asian studies.

Other Sources for Theses & Dissertations

Centre for Research Libraries – a collection of over 20,000 doctoral dissertations from outside Canada and the U.S.  Search by title, author or keyword. Items in this database may be obtained by interlibrary loan through U of C’s Document Delivery Services.

Cybertheses – provides access to citations of French dissertations from North America, Europe, Africa and South America from 1972 to present.
 

National Library of Canada Theses Canada Portal – provides access to the National Library of Canada theses collection, 1965 - over 300,000 theses with over 50,000 available in fulltext

OAIster  -   Union catalogue of digital resources - good for locating theses housed in the digital repositories of various universities

Worldcat -   Change " Subtype limits" for "any content" to " Thesis/Dissertation". Note: Some results may be later edited publications of original dissertations.

Theses & Dissertations

Use the general guide to locating theses to connect to key sources, including ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (free full text electronic access to many theses published since the 1980’s, and a select number from earlier years).

University of Calgary Theses and Dissertations

University of Calgary Library Catalogue  - while a copy of all U of C theses is located in the University Archives, for many a second copy is held in the library collection.  Search the catalogue for "calgary and (thes?s or dissertation)" to locate U of C theses.

University of Calgary Institutional Repository -  records for all University of Calgary theses and dissertations are being added here with the hope that in the future this will also provide access to the full-text

Note: many University of Calgary theses are available full-text through ProQuest Digital Dissertations and or Thesis Canada Portal