Skip to main content

Introduction to Research in Engineering

What are databases?

1. Searchable collection of journal articles, conference proceedings etc. often fulltext.

2. Library pays yearly for subscription and they can VERY expensive.

3. Can be accessed via the links below OR off our homepage under the Online Resources tab (click HERE for a link to all 815 databases)

4. Can be used off campus as well (you'll need student ID card to authenticate).

Databases for engineering research

Below you will find link to many of our engineering databases. Keep in mind these are not all of our engineering related databases. To see all our databases click on the Online Resources tab off our home page OR click HERE.

Multidisciplnary:

Compendex
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database covering journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings over the entire spectrum of engineering.

Electrical/Mechanical:

IEEE Xplore (IEL) - IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online    
Access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, to IEE journals and conference proceedings, and to current IEEE standards.

INSPEC
Index of publications in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology.

Petroleum:

OnePetro     
A unique library of technical documents and journal articles serving the E&P industry. Replaces SPE Library.

Petroleum Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from worldwide literature on petroleum exploration, production, development, and transportation, and related environmental, safety, and health topics.

Chemical:

SciFinder
Journal and patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS).

CrossFire      
Chemical structures, reactions and properties for organic and inorganic compounds from the Beilstein and Gmelin databases.

Biomedical:

PubMed 
Database from US National Library of Medicine covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, molecular biology, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Environmental:

Environment Complete 
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 
Interdisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Project Management:

ABI Inform Global
Business and management database covering North America and the world with research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers,and more.

Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included


Contact Us

Email: gallaghe@ucalgary.ca

Telephone: (403) 220-6042

Find it SFX

What do you do when you've searched a database, found the perfect article but can't seem to find the full text? You need to look for the yellow and red FIND IT/SFX button below.

Find It SFX provides links between journal databases and the full text of articles that are licensed or purchased by the University of Calgary. In any database where there does not seem to be full text documents always look for the yellow button below to be linked through to the full text.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search the scholarly literature. Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.