Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

EBP - Nursing

Resources for Evidence Based Practice, Professional Accountability, and Inter-professional Practice

Syntheses Definition

A synthesis is a comprehensive summary of all the evidence surrounding a specific research question.   Such reviews include systematic reviews. The data collection methods used for systematic reviews are precise, detailed literature searches which can be easily replicated by others.

NURSING SYNTHESES: Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP (evidence based practice) database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that's been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI. Includes: Evidence Summaries, Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports.

Review the search tips under Summaries for JBI

Conduct your disease/condition search, and then limit the search to Systematic Review under Publication Types. Click Search

 

Example of final search:

NURSING SYNTHESES: NursingPlus

ACCESS Smart Search
ACCESSSS provides "one-stop" access to pre-appraised evidence to address this key question: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions?

You must register for updates to be sent to you and to access the database.

Once you have registered, sign in to search.  You can also choose to have alerts sent to you when you register.

  • Click the SEARCH button from the top menu
  • Type your search -- again be general and focus on condition/disease
  • Look through the results for "systematic reviews"

 

  • NursingPlus is a free indexing service. So, the articles/systematic reviews are often not available for you to download.
  • Take the title of the review, and search it in the main library search box to find the full text.
  • NursingPlus is more of a current awareness service so it is a bit annoying to have to go find the full text.

NURSING SYNTHESES: World Views on Evidence Based Nursing

Worldiews on Evidence Based Nursing (Journal)
The most current and comprehensive resources to translate the best evidence into the best nursing research, education, administration, and policy and practice. Some issues contain knowledge synthesis as well as original articles and systematic reviews.

  • Be general is your searching in the Journal search box
    • search by condition and include: systematic review
      to quickly find synthesis research

OTHER SYNTHESES: Campbell Collaboration

Campbell Collaboration - Campbell Library
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Campbell is based on voluntary cooperation among researchers of a variety of backgrounds. Campbell currently has five Coordinating Groups: Social Welfare, Crime and Justice, Education, Methods, and the Users group. The Coordinating Groups are responsible for the production, scientific merit, and relevance of our systematic reviews.

If you are searching on a clinical topic, you may not find anything relevant in this resources

From the Campbell Collaboration homepage:

  • Choose Campbell Library from top menu
  • Conduct a topic search 
  • or, scan through the reviews from the different Coordinating Groups

MEDICINE SYNTHESES

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews     
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is part of the Cochrane Library (Wiley), and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: * Complete reviews - Complete Reviews are prepared and regularly updated by Collaborative Review Groups, and contain highly structured, systematic full-text reviews of methodological studies.

EvidenceAlerts
BMJ Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit are collaborated to provide all citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing physicians.

Need to register to search.

EPC Evidence-Based Reports
These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports.

Libraries & Cultural Resources