Skip to main content

Library Resources for the Native Centre

This guide aims to support students associated with the UofC Native Centre.

Library Terms

Abstract - a brief summary of a book or article. Quickly reading an abstract will help you decide if you would like to get the full article or book.

Archives:  Old documents, photos and rare books are kept here.  Older periodicals are also stored here on microform.

Author, Title and Imprint:  The imprint (city, publisher and date of publication), author and title are all necessary when citing works in your research.  

Bibliography - a list of books, articles, and other materials that are cited by the source you are looking at. Also known as a works cited list, or a references list.

Call Number - Each book in our library has a call number. It is a series of letters and numbers that help you locate the book. When searching for a book in the library’s catalogue, remember to write down or print out the call number. Call numbers are organized by subject, so books on the same topic will be shelved next to one another.

Catalogue:  The catalogue is found on the library's website, and is used to locate books in the library's collection.  Catalogue records are full of information including the call number, location code, and status.  It also contains the author and title of the book.

Parts of the Catalogue Record (Call Numbers, Location Codes, Status, Author, Title, Imprint):

Call Numbers:  Call numbers are how the books are organized in the library.  Call numbers are on the spine of the book.  An example of a call number is: GV 848.4 C2W55 2007.  This is the call number for the book Gretzky to Lemieux: the story of the 1987 Canada Cup by Ed Willes.    

Location Codes:  Location codes are part of the catalogue record.  It is important to note the location code so that you know what part of the library it is in.  Since the catalogue is shared with other libraries, it is also important to make sure the book is in our library.  For example, the location code for Gretzky to Lemieux: the story of the 1987 Canada Cup by Ed Willes is Main Stacks (UW).  This means it is in the Main Stacks at the University of Winnipeg Library.

Status:  That status portion of the catalogue record tells you if the book is available or if it is already signed out by someone else.  If it is already signed out the status will also tell you when the book is due back.

Author, Title and Imprint:  The imprint (city, publisher and date of publication), author and title are all necessary when citing works in your research.  

Circulation Desk:  The circulation desk is where books are signed out, as well was where they are returned.  This is also where any fines are paid, and course reserve materials are picked up.  Our circulation desk is located on the left, immediately inside the library entrance. 

Citation - brief information about a source, such as a book or article. It usually lists the author, title of the book (or name of the magazine, journal or newspaper), title of the article (if applicable), publication date or year, pages numbers (if applicable), and publisher (if applicable).

Course Reserve Materials:  Course reserve materials are books, book chapters, articles, and other materials that professors set aside for their specific courses.  These materials are usually part of the course readings.  These materials can be signed out for a short amount of time, and are subject to higher fines than regular items.  They can be picked up at the circulation desk.

Databases:  Databases are an online search tool.  They are collections of electronic articles that can be searched.  Some databases contain the full text of the articles while others do not.

FAQ: The FAQ on our website, library.uwinnipeg.ca, is a great place to look for information about the library.  You can also submit questions there if it hasn’t already been answered.

Full-Text - When searching in the library’s database for articles, you will often see a link that says “full text” (sometimes marked as PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text). This means that the article is available online in the database. Clicking on the “full text” link will take you to the article where you can read it on your computer, print it out, download it, or email it to yourself. If the article is not available in “full text,” you can click on the Find-It button.

Inter-library Loan:  If there is a book or an article that you need for your research, but we don't have it at the library or in a database, we can get it from another library for you.  Just fill out the inter-library loan request form on the library's website.

Learning Commons:  The Learning Commons is located on the fourth floor mezzanine level of Centennial Hall.  The Librarians use the Learning Commons as an instructional lab.  It has several Mac computers, as well as a projector screen.  When there is no class in session, the lab is open for students to use.

Location Codes:  Location codes are part of the catalogue record.  It is important to note the location code so that you know what part of the library it is in.  Since the catalogue is shared with other libraries, it is also important to make sure the book is in our library.  For example, the location code for Gretzky to Lemieux: the story of the 1987 Canada Cup by Ed Willes is Main Stacks (UW).  This means it is in the Main Stacks at the University of Winnipeg Library.

Main Stacks:  Stacks are another word for bookshelves.  When we refer to the main stacks, we really just mean our collection of regular books.  The main stacks are located on the second floor of the library, which is actually the fifth floor of Centennial Hall.

Peer Reviewed - A scholarly material based on original research. It is often a scholarly journal article. Not a magazine or newspaper article. It is a material that is written by an expert in a field (e.g., doctor, scientist, professor). Generally, peer reviewed materials are fairly lengthy and text-heavy. Peer Reviewed materials always cite their sources, so you will usually see a bibliography with it. Sometimes, peer reviewed materials are referred to as: scholarlyacademic, or refereed.

Periodicals:  Periodicals are items such as newspapers, magazines and journals.  They are called periodicals because they are published periodically (daily, weekly, monthly, etc.).  The library keeps periodicals in four different areas.  Current periodicals (the most recent twelve months) are stored in the orange shelving beside the stairway on the fifth floor.  Periodicals dating back to 1990 are bound into book format and kept in the Periodicals Back Issues room on the fifth floor.  Articles from before 1990 are either kept on microform in the archives, or in storage away from the library.  If you need an article in storage you can request the article and a library staff member will retrieve it for you, usually within 24 hours.

Periodicals Back Stacks Room:  Periodicals dating back to 1990 are kept in the Periodicals Back Issues room on the fifth floor.  A years worth of journals are bound into book form.  They are then arranged alphabetically by name in the Periodicals Back Issues room, which is located directly across from the stairwell on the fifth floor.

Reference Collection:  The reference collection is comprised of items such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.  These items are good for quickly looking up facts, and are a great place to start your research.  This collection is in high demand, and because of this the items cannot be signed out of the library.  Our reference collection is located on the main floor of the library.

Reference Desk: Librarians and other library staff work at the reference desk.  At the reference desk we can help you find books, explain how to use the databases, or answer any other questions you might have.  Our reference desk is the round desk, located in the middle of the main floor of the library.

Stacks - This is the area where the books are shelved. In Cofrin Library, the book stacks are on the 5th and 6th floors of the library. Books with call numbers A-P are shelved on the 6th floor. Books with call numbers Q-Z are shelved on the 5th floor.

Status:  That status portion of the catalogue record tells you if the book is available or if it is already signed out by someone else.  If it is already signed out the status will also tell you when the book is due back.

Stimpson Media Gallery:  The Stimpson Media Gallery is located right outside the library entrance.  There are three televisions and several Mac computers that can be used by students and guests.

Subject Guides: These are resources created by the Librarians different topics.  They are a great place to start when you are researching a paper.  You can access them by clicking on the link on the library’s website: library.uwinnipeg.ca