Skip to main content

Library Resources for the Native Centre

This guide aims to support students associated with the UofC Native Centre.

Finding Aboriginal Authors

If you are looking to find material written specifically by aboriginal authors try these suggestions:

Aboriginal Authors A-Z List -  from the University of Saskatchewan "Works of non-fiction written by First Nations, Métis and Inuit authors (who have a connection to Canada) can be found here. Use the A-Z links for a list of names; all authors cited are represented in the University Library holdings. Clicking on an individual name will take you to that author’s U of S Library catalogue page. Use your back button to return to the Aboriginal Research Resources site."

First Nations Authors Project Vancouver Island University Library's "First Nations Authors Project" identifies literature by First Nations authors (i.e. novels, poems, plays) in the Library collection. The focus of the project is on North American authors." 

 

Bibliography of Native Studies

Books & E-books

Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples

Early Canadiana Online

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures & the Environment

North American Indian Thought & Culture

Native Peoples A to Z: A Reference Guide to native Peoples of the Western Hemisphere Call no. E 54.5 N38 2009, vol. 1-8.

Located in the reference collection, ground floor of the TFDL.

Biographies

What We have Access to –

This is a mix of information and there are more documents that can be accessed online

Metis National Council Historical Online Database

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Dictionary of Canadian Biography

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

What We have Access to –

This is a mix of information and there are more documents that can be accessed online

Native Peoples A to Z: a reference guide to native peoples of the Western hemisphere Call no. E 54.5 N38 2009, vol. 1-8.

Located in the reference collection, ground floor of the TFDL.

Encyclopedia of Canada’s Peoples

Interactive ALR (American Language Reprint)

 

Loading