LAW Canadian Cases and Decisions
This guide is intended to help researchers locate cases and decisions and provide links to sources for Canadian Federal as well as Alberta and the other provinces and territories case law.
Alberta Court Websites
Both federal and provincial courts often make judicial decisions available through their own websites.
- Alberta CourtsIncludes Court of Appeal, Court of Queen's Bench and Provincial Court
- Alberta Rules of CourtFind the current Alberta Rules of Court from the Queen's Printer of Alberta website.
- Clerk of the CourtIn Alberta, unpublished court cases may be found by contacting the Clerk of the Court for a transcript, if available. There will be a charge for this.
Multi-jurisdictional Sources
- CanLII This link opens in a new windowAlberta CourtsCanLII, is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada to provide Open Access, freely accessible primary legal material, including court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
- Westlaw Canada This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only
Platform for database products published by Thomas Reuters Canada. Includes primary sources, commentary, court documents, forms and precedents, and finding tools. Full text source for Canadian law resources. Includes the Canadian Abridgement Digests and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; cases (reported and unreported), commentary, legislations, journal articles covering the areas of general law, family law and criminal law. - Westlaw Edge (UofC Law School only) This link opens in a new windowFaculty of Law students and faculty may obtain an individual password.Westlaw Edge is a full text and indexing database that provides access to a variety of law and finding tools. It includes Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases covering most US primary and secondary legal materials and legal research tools. It also includes over 700 full text law reviews and has legal material from the UK, Australia and the EU.
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new windowLexis Advances Quicklaw provides access to an extensive database of over 2 million cases, jurisdictional sources, including exclusive sources like Halsbury's Laws of Canada and Canadian Tort Law. This database includes QuickCite, which ensures decisions are based on good authority by cases. Lexis Advance QuickLaw provides access to Canadian law (legislation, jurisprudence, and doctrine) as well as law sources from the United States, United Kingdom, France, Australia, New Zealand, and Hong Kong.
- Lexis+ Canada This link opens in a new window
- Available to Faculty of Law students only
- Password access only
Content includes Canadian, US, UK, international and foreign legal materials, and Practical Guidance.
- Canadian Charter of Rights Decisions DigestCanadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)
- JSS Barristers Rules NewsletterSummaries of recent Court Decisions which consider the Alberta Rules of Court and commentary related to the Rules, issued quarterly.
Alberta Unreported Decisions
An unreported decision or unreported judgment is the decision of a judge that has not been published in a case law reporter. Alberta Unreported Decisions 1954-2002 are located on the 1st Floor of the law library, Call Number KEA130.
Administrative Bodies
Officials, Agencies, Boards, Commissions and Tribunals often make their decisions available through their own websites.
- Alberta Energy RegulatorDecisionsOnce a hearing has been completed, the AER issues a decision report documenting the decision and other relevant details from the hearing.
- Alberta Human Rights CommissionAll tribunal decisions released after January 1, 2000 can be accessed through CanLIIThe Commission has a two-fold mandate: to foster equality and to reduce discrimination. It fulfills this mandate through public education and community initiatives, through the resolution and settlement of complaints of discrimination, and through human rights tribunal and court hearings.
- Alberta Labour Relations BoardALRB Decisions from 1988 are available on-line.The Labour Relations Board has decisions dating back to 1952. Decisions not available on the website can be received by emailing the ALRB at alrbinfo@gov.ab.ca.
- Alberta Securities CommissionDecisions & Orders at the ASC
- Alberta Utilities CommissionDecisionsThe Alberta Utilities Commission regulates the utilities sector, natural gas and electricity markets
- Appeals Commission for Alberta Worker's CompensationAll decisions delivered as of Jan 1, 2003 are available on CanLII. Decisions delivered before 2003 are only available in print at their Edmonton office.
- College of Physicians & Surgeons of AlbertaDiscipline Information About PhysiciansInformation about physician-related complaints is confidential, unless that complaint is sent to a formal disciplinary hearing.
- Environmental Appeals BoardAppeals are numbered according to fiscal year April 1 to March 31. Full decisions are updated to October 4, 2013.
- Fatality inquiry reportsPublic fatality inquiry reports are organized by year of issue, with the most current decisions listed first.The Minister of Justice may order that a Provincial Court judge conduct a public fatality inquiry. The inquiry will determine the identity of the deceased; the date, time and place of death; and the circumstances of death. Once the inquiry is complete the judge provides a written report.
- Law Society of AlbertaDecisions and Outcomes
- Metis Settlements Appeal TribunalHearing DecisionsThe Appeal Tribunal deals with land and membership disputes. MSAT also amends right of entry orders and settles compensation disputes for oil and gas activities on Settlement lands.
- Municipal Government Board Order SearchDecisions of the Municipal Government Board (MGB) as well as decisions of the Composite Assessment Review Board (CARB). Currently decisions of the MGB (non-assessment) may be searched for 2008 and on and CARB decisions may be searched for 2010 and on.Alberta Municipal Affairs has a number of agencies, boards and commissions (ABCs) that work with the Government of Alberta. ABCs advise ministries and provide support for particular areas. Many ABCs are considered to be arm’s length from government.
- Natural Resources Conservation BoardConfined Feeding Operations Decisions
- Natural Resources Conservation BoardNatural Resource Projects DecisionsThe Board conducts independent, quasi-judicial reviews of proposed non-energy natural resource projects to determine their public interest. The Board’s mandate and project criteria are set out in the Natural Resources Conservation Board Act.
- Office of the Information and Privacy CommissionerOrders Issued by the CommissionerCommissioner's Orders are listed by year and are posted as soon as the order is made available to the public.
- Office of the Information and Privacy CommissionerCase SummariesThe case summary page does not include summaries for published Investigation Reports or Orders.
- Last Updated: Sep 21, 2023 8:29 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/Canadiancases
- Print Page