Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) Collection
The Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) collection is housed at the University of Calgary in the basement of the Gallagher Library (Earth Sciences 170).
New AINA titles
HISTORY OF THE AINA COLLECTION
The Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) collection is a unique collection of material about the world above the 60th North parallel as well as Antarctica. The current AINA Collection (2000 to the present) is housed in basement of the Gallagher Library (Earth Sciences 170). Older material is housed in the High Density Library and must have a hold placed on it. Materials in the AINA collection are subject to the same policies as materials in the University of Calgary Library system.
The AINA collection has always been a donated collection, which is one of the reasons that it is such an interesting, eclectic collection. The older portions of the collection contain material on all aspects of the Canadian North with additional material on northern Europe, Russia, Alaska, Greenland and Antarctica. Newer material focuses primarily — but not exclusively — on the scientific, technological and social aspects of the Canadian North. The collection is not limited to just English and one can find a variety of languages from Danish, Swedish, and Russian to Kalaallisut (West Greenlandic) and Inuvialuktun (Inuit dialects of Canada).
Materials in the AINA collection include books, newspapers, journals, government reports, rare books, and microforms, and can be found in Gallagher Library (ES170), the University of Calgary's Archives and Special Collections, Microforms and the High Density Library (HDL).
For a detailed history of the Arctic Institute of North America and the AINA collection, please see Dr. Macdonald's article in the December 2005 issue of Arctic.
The Ernest Shackleton headstone and grave occupy a cemetery near the Grytviken Whaling Station on South Georgia Island, Antarctica, photo by Don MacMillan, University of Calgary.
- Last Updated: Apr 19, 2016 11:11 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/c.php?g=255510
- Print Page