Skip to main content

Alert: High Density Library Closure | November 24 - 26

Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) Collection

The Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) collection is housed at the University of Calgary in the basement of the Gallagher Library (Earth Sciences 170).

Gems from Archives

Archives

In the days prior to computers, much of the AINA collection was housed in pamphlet boxes consisting of a variety of items, such as clippings, drafts of articles, reprints, and other miscellaneous materials relating to people, places and topical subjects relating to Northern Canada, Greenland, Alaska, Scandinavia, Russia and Antarctica. We have been transferring material from the pamphlet boxes to University Archives (TFDL 520) for better accessiblity.

When asking for material from Archives the following information is needed:  Accession  2011.035 (Arctic Institute of North America), the file number and the file title.

Example:

Accession#  2011.035

File # - 3.20

File Title – Perry River Expedition – Research Reports

Requests should be submitted to the Archives References email at arc@ucalgary.ca. As this material is held off-site, please allow for 1-2 days for the file to be sent to the Archives Reading room (TFDL 520), where you can look at the material.

To see the current file list please ask to see a copy at Gallagher Library, we can let you see a copy of the list for you to use as a reference point.

Ice

 

Ice flow, Antarctica, photograph by Don MacMillan, University of Calgary.

Ice flow, Antarctica, photograph by Don MacMillan, University of Calgary.