Skip to main content

Alert: High Density Library closure Nov 24 - 26 | Holds must be placed by 10am on Thursday

Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) Collection

The Arctic Institute of North America (AINA) collection is housed at the University of Calgary in the basement of the Gallagher Library (Earth Sciences 170).

Interesting items found using ASTIS

ASTIS Database

The purpose of the Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) is to make information about northern Canada more accessible. The ASTIS database in maintained by the staff of the Arctic Institute of North America.

ASTIS covers all aspects of northern Canada, including the earth sciences, the life sciences, engineering and technology, renewable and non-renewable resources, co-management, politics and government, economic and social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, archaeology, history, art and literature.

ASTIS covers all of Canada north of the southern limit of discontinuous permafrost, as well as adjacent marine areas. Our coverage therefore includes the northern parts of most of the provinces, the three territories (Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut), part of the Arctic Ocean, the Canadian part of the Beaufort Sea, the waters within the arctic archipelago, the Canadian half of Baffin Bay and of Davis Strait, Hudson and James Bays, and much of the Labrador Sea. In practice, our coverage of the three territories is more complete than our coverage of the northern parts of the provinces. ASTIS contains a small amount of information about non-Canadian polar regions.

The coverage of publications in ASTIS emphasizes grey literature, including reports from government agencies, industry, First Nations, and universities. ASTIS also includes journal articles, conference papers, theses and books. Most of the citations in the database are to publications produced since 1978, but a small amount of older material is included. Publications are obtained through work on contract bibliographic projects, and from the Arctic Institute of North America Collection and the rest of the University of Calgary Library.

The citations in ASTIS contain a complete bibliographic description, an abstract, detailed subject and geographic terms and, in most cases, a library symbol indicating where the document is available on interlibrary loan. If a document is available online the ASTIS citation will also include a link to it

To go to the ASTIS database click here

 

 

 

CAPE PETREL BELL