Skip to main content

Anthropology

Background Information

Often it can be helpful to get an overview of your topic and/or definition of terms.  The overview  will also  help identify key books and articles in your topic area.  Key resources for research on housing and society include titles such as Encyclopedia of the city (also located in print in the reference collection: HT108.5 .E526 2005) as well as:

Encyclopedia of Housing - 2 volumes     location of 2nd edition

International Encyclopedia of Housing and Home - 7 volumes -  Location

Sage Handbook of Housing Studies -  Location  -  can view contents through Google

Urban Housing Handbook -  Location

 

Need help in identifying a possible topic?  Browse through the issues of some key journals in this area.

Finding Articles and Books on Housing and Society

The search box on the library home page is  good starting point for finding both articles and books in the library collection.  While a search in the library search box will identify both our print and digital books,  it is often helpful to search directly in ebrary; our major collection of digital books.

The  articles tab on the left will link you to  other sources that are useful for research in anthropology.  For this course you may find that literature of  architecture, political sciencegeography, history,  economics, sociologyurban studies etc is also helpful. Consult Database page for a listing of databases by subject. 

Here are some key sources for locating academic articles and papers on housing and society:

Anthropology Plus

eHRAF World Cultures - major collection of ethnographic material

Environment Complete

Homeless Hub -  over 30,000 resources on Homelessness in Canada

JSTOR

SocIndex with fulltext

Urban Studies Abstract

Web of Science -  good general guide to scholarly journal literature in all subject areas.  Does not contain fulltext but through  the "Get Full text"  links can often quickly retrieve fulltext of the work

Google Scholar -  good source to pull resources from a variety of disciplinary areas

 

 

 

 

Policy Resources

Guide to resources for Urban Policy compiled by Dani Pahulje, Political Science and Government Publications Librarian

See information below for selected content from this guide

 

See also Urban Studies/Planning Guide prepared by Sue McKee

How to Find Municipal Polices

To locate official government policies:

First locate the city's website by searching for the name of the city and the word official -  "san francisco official"

Then:

  • Using the site's search box search for the following terms:   Policy OR policies OR Strategy  

OR

  • Do an advanced search in Google  for  Policy OR Policies OR Strategy and narrow results to government site, for example  www.toronto.ca     (Note you can do this in the main Google search box by entering  "policy OR policies OR strategy  site:www.toronto.ca")